Pour Me, Lord

I’ve always loved this little song. So much truth, so much purpose, so much beauty in just a few words!

It always reminds me of 2 Samuel 23:15-17, when David was hiding out in a cave while the Philistines controlled Bethlehem. Three of his faithful men came to check on him.

And David said longingly, “Oh, that someone would give me water to drink from the well of Bethlehem that is by the gate!”

Then the three mighty men broke through the camp of the Philistines and drew water out of the well of Bethlehem that was by the gate and carried and brought it to David. But he would not drink of it. He poured it out to the LORD and said, “Far be it from me, O Lord, that I should do this. Shall I drink the blood of the men who went at the risk of their lives?” Therefore he would not drink it.

I remember reading that years ago and being indignant. After all the effort and danger those men went through, David didn’t even drink the water! I mean, really? It seems like such a waste! I expected David to receive a gift like that with thanksgiving and savor each sip of the water because of the sacrifice made for it.

But in God’s economy, something poured out is never wasted.

David poured out that beautiful offering before the Lord. God surely was pleased with the deep love expressed by each of those men.   As the song says, being “poured out” is an offering to God.

This past week, however, Jeremiah 48:11 has shown me a new meaning in being poured.

Moab has been at ease since his youth;
He has also been undisturbed, like wine on its dregs,
And he has not been emptied from vessel to vessel,
Nor has he gone into exile.
Therefore he retains his flavor,
And his aroma has not changed.

Moab had not been emptied; he was “undisturbed, like wine on its dregs.” If you have ever made wine, you know that wine is decanted, or carefully poured out, after the dregs have settled to the bottom of the container. That sediment, which has a bitter flavor, is left behind, making the wine clearer and better tasting. The pouring also introduces oxygen into the wine, which gives it new life and aroma.

Do I tend to be like Moab? Do I ever just rest on my dregs, undisturbed, complacent and settled? Am I shocked and affronted when God decides to pour me from vessel to vessel? Yet God in His omniscient wisdom knows exactly when I need to be poured. He loves me and His ways are perfect.

Yes, Lord, I am willing to be poured out, to be disturbed, to become unsettled, because I know that it is not about me and my comfort. It is about You perfecting me, making me more fit for Your purpose. Purify me, Lord. Remove the bitter sediment, give me clarity and new life.  Use me for Your glory.  Empty me.

Lord, just help me to be pourable. I trust You.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

