Never Eclipse

I just read an inspiring little instagram snip about being the moon that reflects the Son, and it made me think of something really important.

Eclipses.

It’s an amazing fact that the moon has absolutely no light of its own and only sheds light by reflecting what it receives from the sun. Some nights when the moon is full and it’s bright and warm and beautiful outdoors, that’s almost hard to believe, but it’s true. And when we take that natural phenomenon and apply it spiritually, it makes our place in the cosmos so glaringly obvious.

I need to be a reflector.   I am put here, with no light of my own, only to reflect the light provided by my maker, the One who is LIGHT!

And then I thought about eclipses. There are times, rare and rather amazing, when the earth gets in the way, directly between the sun and the moon, and that light is blocked. For just a few moments, the mass of our Earth is able to block the sun’s rays and cast a shadow on the moon. When you consider the fact that our Sun is over 100 times as large as the earth, that is quite an incredible thing, isn’t it? Did you ever think how awesome it really is? How amazing that these three heavenly bodies were created the proper size and exact distance apart for the earth’s shadow to perfectly cover the moon’s light!

Since I believe that all of nature tells God’s story, my mind wandered on to what eclipses show us of Him. The signs and wonders that He gives are enlightening in many ways, sometimes marking important events, and sometimes warning us. So is there a warning in the eclipse?

When the light from the moon is blocked, what gets in the way?

Us.
This earth we live on.
Me.

*I* get in the way.

And when I get in the way, what is blocked?

God’s light.

And the result?

Darkness.

 

Lord, help me to walk in Your light. Keep my –self- out of the way so that your light continues to reflect to the entire world.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

