A Leaf in the Snow

A couple weeks ago, the picture on my homemade calendar caught my eye.

IMG_20160214_154423078

It’s a striking picture, taken by a dear friend of mine. I wasn’t sure at first why I liked it, but as I looked at it through the month, I realized something.

The leaf isn’t perfect.   Far from it, in fact. It’s shriveled and curled and a few pieces have broken off. There’s really nothing remarkable about it—a leaf, no longer needed, carelessly cast aside.

And sometimes I feel like that.

Maybe you have, too.   At times it seems that you’re just…dry.   Everything worthwhile has been used up, and You Got Nothin’. Do you know that feeling?

Like the leaf, just lying there empty.

But the leaf is lying on a perfect, unbroken, spotless bed of snow.

And that’s what happens with me, too.

When I feel used up, spent, completely dry…when I am Just Done…I can fall back on my Savior, who is perfect, unspoiled, full of fresh beauty. And I can rest.

And you know another thing about that leaf? There were lots of other leaves out there, right? This certainly wasn’t the only leaf on the tree. But this one—this is different. It’s lying on top of the snow. This leaf clung tenaciously to its twig until the bitter cold set in.   It didn’t give up. It didn’t fall at the first tug of a breeze. It hung in there.

And I can, too.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Leaf in the Snow

  1. Kristi says:

    Love this….It hung in there and I can too. My husband told an entire congregation yesterday that, as children of God…we have NO REASON to be glum. ok then….yessssireeeee. 🙂 🙂 I am the first to admit that my issues are quite small. Little things like brrrrrsocoldoutside. I love to read what you are thinking…

  2. Kristi says:

    I actually had NOT been seeing many of these posts and almost missed this one?? Did you take a break for a little? Ha ha….so many ways to talk these days, huh?!!

Leave a Reply

