Who Am I?

God told Moses, “Go tell Pharaoh to let my people go!”  Exodus 3

Yeah. Just imagine God speaking to your eighty-year-old quietly comfortable self and saying, Okay, now, let’s get moving. I want you to go talk to this tyrant king and boss him around. Take away all his slaves and lead them to another country.

It’s hard to even imagine. Surely we can understand why Moses seemed a bit hesitant. In his younger years, Moses had been on fire to mete out justice for God’s people, (Ex 2:11-12) but at this point he had been living quietly in the back country for forty years. Though he had received an excellent education and understood life in the palace, he surely thought he had left that life forever. When he had fled the country with Pharaoh’s execution orders hanging over his head, he probably didn’t plan to return, and certainly didn’t ever want to attract the attention of Pharaoh again. Besides that, his Israelite brothers hadn’t been very happy with him either!

And so he said it. Humbly.   “Um, Lord? Who am I to do a thing like that?”

God’s response? “I will certainly be with you!”

Moses wasn’t completely reassured. “But why would they listen to me? I can say You sent me, but they’re going to ask me who YOU are!”

And God said, “I AM WHO I AM.”

Of course, we can’t really wrap our minds around “I AM.”   It encompasses past, present and future tense:   I was, I am, I will be, I began being, I encompass all being, and I never have any end. His Being is beyond the understanding of our tiny minds.

I see myself in my wilderness years, quietly comfortable and seeming to accomplish nothing of any importance. It becomes easier and easier to expect very little from myself.   And yet, reading about Moses, I realize that God could decide at any time to call me from my lethargy, to give me a charge.

And my response to that thought is like that of Moses—Who am I?

And the answer is clear. Who I am is irrelevant.
What matters is Who is within me. The I AM.

Who am I? No one.

Whose am I? The great, the all-powerful, the all-knowing, the indescribable, uncontainable, unfathomable I AM.

I am His.

It makes me think of this beautiful song.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Am I?

  1. Lisa says:

    YES! Makes all the difference!

  2. Peggy says:

    Well said ~ amen ~ 🙂

  3. Kristi says:

    I am His…Love!!

  4. Pingback: Flourish and Grow Brighter | dayuntoday

Leave a Reply

