TRUTH: God Does Not Exist to Solve My Problems

God is more concerned about changing me and about glorifying Himself than about solving my problems.  

For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son ………..                      Romans 8:29

When we have problems, our natural instinct is to demand solutions.  But the Truth is…God does not exist to solve my problems.  It’s not that He doesn’t care; He does care very much.  But His goal is to do whatever is necessary to conform me to His image.  Some of the problems that challenge me the most are carefully designed to draw me closer to His purpose in my life.  To demand a solution or an escape may actually be to forfeit the beautiful change He is trying to bring about in me.

Condensed and adapted from:
Lies Women Believe and the Truth that Sets Them Free
by Nancy Leigh DeMoss
Chapter 11, Truth #19

How often do I seethe and beat my head against my challenges?  Do I scream at the skies that this is Stupid, that I Can’t Stand this, and it Needs To Stop?  When circumstances pile up against me like ice along the shore, do I struggle against my limitations and ask Why, Why, Why?

Do I ever pause to see what might be good about the trial?  Instead of seeing it as a barricade thrust in my path only to torment me, to make my life miserable, do I ever try to imagine how God can use this in a good way?  When I angrily protest against the obstruction, do I miss the point that it forces me to detour…and that in the course of that detour, I can learn new things, expand my horizons, perhaps even grow in character?  If I spend my time griping about the barrier, I may completely overlook the things that God intended for me to see along this new route.

It’s typical to grumble, to wish my situation were different, to struggle against my restraints, but what an effort that is, and how unpleasant!  It should be easier to let go, to allow God to show me the new path.  Why is it so hard?  The problem, of course, is self.  I must give up my own plans. I had intended to take the route that is barricaded—that’s the way I am familiar with, and I tend to resent the fact that I have to change.

But change is what it’s all about!  He wants to change me.  God is always stretching me—how else can I possibly become conformed to the image of His Son?  God’s purpose is not to find the shortest distance from Point A to Point B.  It is to follow the route that perfectly shapes me into His image. 


For His glory…not my convenience.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TRUTH: God Does Not Exist to Solve My Problems

  1. Peggy says:

    Oh boy, did I ever need to read this today!! :-/

Leave a Reply

