Prop Up Those Idols

I opened the Bible for a quick snack one morning with the idea that I would have something to meditate on during my walk.  When the book fell open to Samuel, I thought, “Oh, no, I should go to the New Testament, or maybe Psalms…”  But on a whim, I decided to see what was there.

When the Philistines captured the ark of God, they brought it from Ebenezer to Ashdod. Then the Philistines took the ark of God and brought it into the house of Dagon and set it up beside Dagon. And when the people of Ashdod rose early the next day, behold, Dagon had fallen face downward on the ground before the ark of the Lord. So they took Dagon and put him back in his place. But when they rose early on the next morning, behold, Dagon had fallen face downward on the ground before the ark of the Lord, and the head of Dagon and both his hands were lying cut off on the threshold. Only the trunk of Dagon was left to him.
1 Samuel 5:1-4

Do I set my idols back up when God knocks them down?  Do I keep trying in my own strength when all He wants is for me to turn to Him?  If things keep crashing down when you try to set them up, perhaps it’s an indication that you should take a step back and look carefully at your motive.  Are you seeking God’s way, or are you determined to make your own way?  The people of Ashdod wanted to worship and serve, but they had their own ideas about how to worship and who to serve.  Do we?

Related posts:
I Am the Lord Your God
Return and Rest

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prop Up Those Idols

Leave a Reply

