Hindsight and Foresight

Jesus, finding a young donkey, sat on it;
as it is written, “Fear not, daughter of Zion;
behold, your King is coming,
seated on a donkey’s colt.”
These things His disciples did not understand at the first;
but when Jesus was glorified,
then they remembered that these things were written of Him,
and that they had done these things to Him.
John 12:14-16

When Jesus decided to ride into town on a young donkey, perhaps the disciples thought it was odd.  According to this account, they certainly didn’t immediately understand it as a fulfillment of prophecy.  Possibly the verse that is referred to here, Zech. 9:9, wasn’t a particularly well-known verse.   It’s even possible that this incongruous sentence inserted in the middle of a rousing ballad of victory (See Zechariah 9 here) was considered to be purely allegorical, rather than something that would be literally fulfilled.

They didn’t see the significance of this little detail at the time. Only in hindsight did they realize that it perfectly fulfilled an obscure bit of prophecy.  It makes me wonder how many details I miss.  To be sure, my knowledge of prophecy is sketchy at best.  Yes, I have read the Word, but if a significant prophecy-fulfilling event occurred, would I recognize it?  Would I remember that I had read something like that before?

And are there passages that I have decided are just symbolic language, so that if the actual literal event took place, I wouldn’t even see it?  

But there is no need to be anxious about it.  After all, the disciples, the men who physically walked with Jesus, didn’t identify these things until afterwards, and that’s encouraging.  I know that I don’t have all of Scripture memorized, and I don’t have perfect understanding, but His grace lifts me up.  Even if I don’t recognize every sign of His coming or make all the right connections between prophecy and the present, He knows my heart.  He knows my desires and He loves me enough to show Himself to me in His own way and time.  

And sometimes He shows me through hindsight the things I didn’t have the foresight to see.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

