What Do They Think About?

I spend a lot of time, probably too much time, reading various books and articles about a wide assortment of things that I find interesting.  Since it is such a wide assortment, I often run across things that are controversial, and I like to bounce those off my friends now and then.  Recently I was told, “You read too much.”  I’ve been thinking about that.  (I’ve also been told, “You think too much.”  Perhaps they’re right?)

It made me curious.  How do people NOT read?  What do they think about all day?  I mean, I can understand it if you have a highly analytical job that requires you to be constantly on the alert and making decisions.  But what about people who dig ditches or work in a factory or um… are homemakers?  🙂  When your mind doesn’t have to be fully focused on the job at hand, it has to go somewhere.  What is it that occupies the brains of people who don’t read, who don’t like to discuss ideas?

What do they think about?

I’ve been wondering what would happen if I quit?  What if I had been born in a time when I didn’t have a houseful of books and magazines and the internet ready at hand 24/7?  How would my life be different?  Would it better or worse?  Would I be more productive, or would I simply build a fantasy world of my own?

Inquiring minds, at least this one, want to know.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Random Acts of Blogness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Do They Think About?

  1. Sherri says:

    Well for goodness sakes! I see I need to subscribe..I’ve missed 3 posts! It seems to me that thinking about ideas and about what you have read is a great way to spend what I call mind-time. I tend to use it to have imaginary conversations, which, I believe, is not all that healthy.

    • dayuntoday says:

      Oh, I have imaginary conversations, too. 🙂 And I agree…not productive. They usually do NOT focus on that one very important quality that’s first on the list in Philippians 4:8…Whatever is TRUE.

Leave a Reply

