More on Self-Denial

I realized something else about denying self this morning that I hadn’t thought of before. 

Sometimes I have to deny my hurt feelings.  When I nurture my hurts and hide behind them, refusing to come out and live normally, I’m hugging that bitterness to me, using it as a shield between me and the world.  

It’s only normal to take offense at words that sting or snub, but when I rehearse them over and over to myself and keep reviving the feelings of being slighted or slandered, I am letting my Self get too much airtime

Okay, yes, it hurt, but there’s no need for a constant replay.  I need to acknowledge that it hurt, then give that hurt to God and let Him keep it.  I don’t need to keep reliving it.  I don’t need to keep telling it to my friends.  I need to let go of it and get it out of my way.  I have a life to live, and hurt feelings are just one more way to focus on ME rather than staying focused on God and living for Him.

 

~~Here you go, Abba.  You can keep these for me…

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More on Self-Denial

  1. Sherri says:

    Ahh…yes. Been there so very many times. Taking every thought captive…capturing it and handing it to him…sometimes again and again.

  2. Lisa says:

    I LOVE this, Ronda. So true and sooooo been there, done that! Reminds me of Mike Wells and his teaching. Why is it so much easier said than done? My flesh has to be willing to let go of the hurt, THAT is the hard part.

  3. I love to call God “Abba”, too. It just feels right when I’m sharing the deepest parts of me.

    • Ronda says:

      Leslie, I agree. That really hit home while I was in Israel. Hearing the children call for thier “Abba” (such a commonplace term in Hebrew) made me realize how incredibly precious it is to have a great and almighty GOD who wants us to call Him Daddy! Heart-achingly awesome! 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  4. Peggy says:

    Just now reading this post ~ with perfect timing ~ needed this badly right now. Thank you! Dear Abba ~ just take it all ~ and keep it, please ~

Leave a Reply

