The Scepter

So it was, when the king saw Queen Esther standing in the court, that she found favor in his sight, and the king held out to Esther the golden scepter that was in his hand. Then Esther went near and touched the top of the scepter.   ~Esther 5:2

Many times I have thought about what it must have been like to stand before a mighty monarch who had the power, at his whim, to put me to death.  Surely Esther’s knees were quaking a bit as she bravely approached that throne.  Imagine the incredible relief and joy when King Ahasuerus extended the scepter and welcomed her to his presence.

But I stand today–and every day–in the presence of a King infinitely more powerful than Ahasuerus was.  My King actually made Ahasuerus…and this world…and everything in it!  I have stood quaking in His prsence as well, realizing that I have no defense.   I have come before Him with nothing to offer.  Yes, I may have garbed myself in the best that I can possibly muster on my own, but all that is worth nothing if He does not grant His favor.

And as I bow, waiting for His verdict, I see a flash of light.  It is the Scepter, and my King is offering it to me!  This Scepter has a face, it has a body, and nail-pierced hands!

Jesus is the scepter!

My King, the Almighty Eternal One, has shown me mercy.  I approached Him knowing that I was not authorized, that I was unworthy, and that on His word hung my life or my death, and He offers me Life.  He extended the Scepter, the Lord Jesus Christ, so that I could accept Him…and Live.

For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive,
And abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You.
Psalm 86:5

Praise to His glorious Name!

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Scepter

  1. Sherri says:

    I love this beautiful thought! Thank you!

  2. Snug Pal says:

    hey,by reading this,im thinking about joining ” Jesus`s club” now ^_^

Leave a Reply

