Give a Blessing, Inherit a Blessing

To sum up,  all of you be harmonious, sympathetic,  brotherly, kindhearted, and  humble in spirit;
not returning evil for evil or insult for insult,
but giving a blessing instead;
for  you were called for the very purpose
that you might  inherit a blessing.
1 Peter 3:8-9

Giving a blessing instead.  I wonder how often I am able to do that?  When someone spits unkind words my way, do I respond with a blessing?  It’s certainly not easy.  I think perhaps the secret goes back to the words before that:  humble in spirit.  If I am truly humble in spirit, I will have no need to defend myself.  If I don’t have a high opinion of myself in the first place, I won’t be bothered by someone’s disrespect.

If my focus is on their heart, rather than what they think of me, then ugly words will make me grieve for their sakes, rather than my own.

Father, forgive them;
for they know not what they do.
Luke 23:34

That’s what Jesus said about the men who were mocking and torturing Him and putting Him to death.    Jesus had never sinned, yet He still forgave those who treated Him so wickedly.  How arrogant for me, then, to be affronted by mere words! I have no right to be angry when others insult me, because I have sinned.  When I think about it logically, I am completely without excuse.  I am guilty.  I have nothing to make me pure except the blood of Christ.  So what is there to prevent me from “giving a blessing instead?”

Nothing.  Nothing at all.

For I was called for this very purpose
that I might inherit a blessing.

I think the end of this verse is often overlooked.  When you give a blessing to the ones who insult you, you inherit a blessing yourself.  And what could be more worthwhile than that?

A challenge for this week:  Give a blessing instead.

Will you take the challenge?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Give a Blessing, Inherit a Blessing

  1. car charity says:

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he just bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

    • dayuntoday says:

      I’m so glad that I was able to help gain you a lunch! 🙂 I just found your comment because it had been banished to my spam folder for some reason. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

