And He Was Not

And Enoch walked with God: and he was not; for God took him.  Gen 5:24

I’ve read over this verse many times, and been a bit envious of Enoch.
Walking with God?  –yes, I definitely want that!

And “God took him?”  –oh, yes!  That would be awesome, to simply be swept up with God and not have to go through the whole dying process.

“He was not.”

I’ve never really attached much importance to that part.  It sounds kind of mystical, and I figured it was probably just a poetic way of saying he disappeared.

—  Hey, where’s Enoch?

—  Oh, he’s not here anymore.  God took him.

Yesterday it occurred to me that maybe that’s not what it means at all.  How many times have I prayed that God would take away my self-consciousness, my self-absorption, my self-centered selfishness?

Enoch walked with God and        He. Was. Not.

Yes, that IS what I want, but in a whole different way than I had previously thought.  I want not to be!  I want my whole life to be so God- centered, so God-focused, that I will not be.  Maybe the ultimate goal of man is encapsulated in those three words.  As we walk with God, self gets weeded out until we are nothing more than a vessel for God.

I don’t want the {spirit} to work through ME.

I want the SPIRIT to work through {me.}

I want to be the thin little rim that does nothing
except contain the Spirit within a human form, as its beam blasts through me, shining so much bigger and farther than I can even comprehend.  Lord, make me the tiny tube that surrounds Your laser, pointing out the real story on the big screen.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings, Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And He Was Not

  1. Sherri says:

    Mmmm… I love new thoughts about old stories. Thank you. And yes, I know what you mean about WP. I can’t even remember now why I chose it over blogspot…there was some reason…refresh my memory? Also, when you answer comments with a comment of your own…does that person ever see you answer? Would they have to manually look back thru the old comments to see it?
    Ah-ha! Is that what that little box down there is for?

Leave a Reply

