It is Finished

Psalm 22: 30-31  Posterity will serve him; it will be told of the Lord to the coming generation.  They will come and will declare His righteousness to a people who will be born, that He has performed it.

He has performed it = It is finished.

Written a thousand years before Christ spoke on the cross, these are the same words.

Even then, our God outside of time declared it finished.  He had already, before the foundation of the world, laid down his life.  For me.

He already knew my depravity, how quickly I would fall into doubt and sin.  And it was finished.  He had performed it.  Already.  He knew from the beginning how faithless I would be, and he still loved me so much as that.

“It will be told to a coming generation, and they will declare it to a people who will be born.”

In 1 Peter 2:1, I read that I am to put aside all hypocrisy, and I am smitten by my conscience the Holy Spirit, laid wide open.  How can I, who stumble so often in my laziness and carelessness, ever point a finger at another?  Am I telling His righteousness to a coming generation?  Am I declaring it to those born after me?  Those souls I have been commissioned to teach…have I communicated to them the incredible faithfulness of  my God?  That He has performed it.

He has performed it.  It is finished.  It was finished, before the Beginning.  Help me never to forget it.  Help me to tell his righteousness to the coming generation.

And keep telling me, Lord.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Bible musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It is Finished

  1. Peggy says:

    Just thinking about it all leaves me in awe every time ~ amazing grace!

Leave a Reply

