Chai redundancy

I just learned at http://thepioneerwoman.com/homeschooling/2011/12/redundant-phrases/ that Chai actually means “tea,” so when you order Chai Tea, you are actually saying “tea tea.”  Ditto with Pizza Pie, which I also didn’t know.  My question is, how then, do I order Chai Tea without being redundant?  I don’t want just plain old Lipton’s–I want that creamy stuff with all the yummy spices.  And no one will know that unless I tell them I want Chai tea.  Right?  Maybe we just need to drop the “tea” part and call it Chai?  That’s what we do with Pizza, at least in our area.  I don’t know anyone who says pizza pie.  Sounds totally weird to me.

Did you know these things were redundant and repetitious?  I didn’t.  I learn something every day.

Every single day.  It’s like déjà vu all over again.

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Random Acts of Blogness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chai redundancy

  1. Lisa says:

    “Tall skinny Chia, with soy milk, please.” GAG. I am NOT a Chia person. Gimme coffee!

Leave a Reply

