On Current Literature

I’ve noticed two trends in books lately that, taken separately, irritate me, but combined, they’re a bit mystifying.

The first is the overwhelming surge in Christian lit toward “bonnet books.”  Has anyone else noticed that in any Christian book catalog there are pages and pages of Amish fiction?  I was puzzled when Beverly Lewis’s first series became such a hit, and I have become progressively moreso as dozens of other authors have jumped on the bandwagon.  The other day I even noticed an Amish mystery/suspense series.  um…really???  Trying to combine the two seemed odd to me.

The other trend that irritates me is the fascination with occult, vampires and gore.  Maybe those three should be kept separate, but to me, they are pretty much the same.  I don’t want to read about any of them.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand the weird attraction, but I don’t believe that they are good for my brain, and I’m positive that they don’t benefit me spiritually.

I recently caved in to curiosity and read the first book of theThe Hunger Games series.  It was very well written and did present a good example of sacrificial love at one point, but it was full of distrust and treachery and gore.  A year or so ago I picked up the Ted Dekker book Immanuel’s Veins and was appalled to find that he was piggybacking on the success of the Twilight series by introducing a “Christianized” version of the vampire genre.  Though I have never read Harry Potter (or Twilight, for that matter) I run into similar themes every time I go to the library, and I’m tired of it.  I picked up a new title by a favorite author this week only to find that it was another vampire novel.  Ugh.

Why is this the overwhelming trend in literature today?  On the one hand, things that are utterly repulsive, and on the other, the Amish books that tell of simpler times and places?

Whatever the reason, they are popular.  And I’m finding it irritating, because I don’t LIKE those kinds of books.  I love to read, and it is getting harder all the time to find books that I think are worth reading.  Between the gratuitous violence, sex and occult focus or, at the other extreme, the vapid love stories, there are less and less just plain good books!

Anyone have some recommendations for me?

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Current Literature

  1. Peggy says:

    I confess to reading some of the “Amish” fiction books ~ not all are horrible ~ some are ridiculous, but not all. Have you read The Harbinger by Jonathan Cahn? I am told it is gripping ~ I’m on the list for it. Right now, I am enjoying One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp, but I’m sure you have already read it ~

  2. dayuntoday says:

    ehh…not sure I can bring myself to have a bonnet novel in the house…just on general principles. We’ll see. And yes One Thousand Gifts has earned a spot among my favorites–I’ve bought numerous copies! 🙂

  3. Kristi says:

    I am so with you on the bonnet novels. No thank you please. And same with the movies. They just do not get it.

Leave a Reply

