I Hate That Ka-THUNK Noise (UPDATED!)

 

I made a dress this week, for the first time in years.  I was almost finished, just needed to do the hem, and was really looking forward to having a new dress, when my serger went
                                                 clunk, chunk, ka-THUNK!
and stopped.  After gasping and choking in frustration a bit, I decided to do some troubleshooting.  I found a screwdriver and all by my very own self pleased took off the top cover.  I wiggled the wheel back and forth and watched what happened.  And now I know what the trouble is.  (I feel like such a detective!)  There’s a little thingamajigger that moves back and forth and kind of rolls around with every stitch, and every few stitches, the aforementioned thingamajigger slips off its track and pops down into a little gap, a no man’s land of the machine, where it catches and ka-thunks

Well, now I know.  The problem is what in the world do I DO about it?  I can peer through all the moving stuff and see this little curved bar thingamajigger, but I can’t actually reach it.  And even if I could, what would I do with it?  So all that screwdriver-finding and cover-opening seems to have been in vain.  I am no closer to having a functioning machine than I was before.  And my nearly finished dress is hanging there leering at me.  

And that’s my life.

Hmph.

PS  I also hate what has happened to my formatting.  Is this all because I changed my browser to Google Chrome?  Because it’s a real nuisance to re-figure out how to make things look like I want them to.  Plus I find things don’t download the same and I can no longer listen to Revive Our Hearts online.  Bah.

I am delighted to report that when I finally got my dh to look at the serger, within ten minutes it was working again.  I don’t know how he does it–he’s a genius that way!  heart



About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Hate That Ka-THUNK Noise (UPDATED!)

  1. quilt_cats says:

    Oh, that’s so frustrating when a sewing machine does that right when you are so close to the finish line on a project!  I never can get my xanga formatting to do what it’s supposed to do either- and for some reason it won’t let me add and new profile photo either- even after I deleted everything else in there except my current photo..  Wish I knew how to make these things work better- good luck to you on it!

  2. fwren says:

    Bah on the serger!  I have heard of others who have had trouble with Google Chrome ~ I’m very sorry for the struggles ~ just hate those kind of things ~ 😦

Leave a Reply

