Wants vs. Needs and Communication

 

“We seldom think of what we have but always of what we lack.”
Arthur Schopenhauer

Lately I’ve been thinking of the camera I don’t have.  Every time I consider blogging, I realize that I can’t add pictures, and it sort of ruins whatever I wanted to talk about.  My camera still takes pictures, but it won’t any longer let go of them.  Whatever is on my camera stays on my camera, since it won’t load them on the computer anymore. 

This quote made me feel a bit guilty…why do I suddenly find myself surrounded by wants, when most of my life I haven’t been able to come up with any?  I used to have absolutely no ideas when people asked what I wanted for Christmas or birthday.  But lately?  Oh, yeah.

Gimme a wheat grinder, a food dehydrator, and a camera, but not a rice cooker, anymore.  (I found one of those at Goodwill for $4, and I love it!)  Give me a subscription to Answers magazine or anything on my wish list at Amazon.  Give me a second freezer, more bookshelves, cabinets for my laundry room, new kitchen cabinets for that matter, and just more storage space in general.  This year, listing my wants is EASY. 

And I’m really wondering why.  I’ve always been so content, and lately I have all kinds of desires for “stuff.”  I’m sure that says something not-so-great about my spiritual condition.

When I try to think of actual needs, however, the list is empty.  I really do have everything I need, and always have.  Which is good to realize.  God never does fail me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Something weird happened here this morning.  When we got up, there was no internet and no cell phone service.  The land line had a dial tone, but wouldn’t make a call.  Kind of an odd feeling.  The entire town was down, the banks couldn’t do business or anything.  Eventually we learned that someone had cut a fiber optic line which carried all communication in our area.  For at least seven hours, we were cut off from the rest of the world.  It’s sobering to think how easily that happens, and how very dependent we are on that one little bundle of fibers.  It made me remember the articles I’ve read in recent years that speculated about EMPs .  In fact, I might have thought that was what happened this morning except that we still had electricity. 

It does make one stop and think.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wants vs. Needs and Communication

  1. fwren says:

    Why won’t your camera unload?  Did you happen to update or restore your Microsoft Explorer?  I have to unload my camera manually now ~ no automatic pop-up unload since the update. 

  2. georgene says:

    Re: discontent…. is it possible you are hanging out (surfing the web) with women who are talking about their gadgets?   Sometimes I’ll read about equipment women are using and it sparks an interest in me or stirs up discontent. Just a thought.

  3. mcbery says:

    Does your camera have a card in it? I always take the card out and copy directly to the hard drives, but maybe that’s not what’s wrong. Was going back through some older posts and noticed your comment. Decided to stop in and visit again. Nowadays all I get visited for the most part is comments and 1 or 2 pages of my inbox. About EMP’s? Yes, someday they are going to get tired of the twitterers and cut them off for awhile so they can’t twitter the truth, or am I being paranoid? Have a great week!

  4. homefire says:

    Thanks for the advice on the camera.  I have tried doing it directly from the card, I have tried using a cord, but nothing works.  It just simply won’t recognize it.  And the camera is very old–one of those big cards that they probably don’t even sell anymore, so I think it’s time…

  5. Lucygray1 says:

    Outstanding efforts for making this blog!! Your writers and your work are really appreciative.reverse phone lookup

  6. The talent of collection the stuff that you are providing is so amazing.Simon Brooke

Leave a Reply

