Gifts

 

The life of the human consists in beholding God.
                                ~Irenaeus

Lenten lights
cinnamon candles and a silver snuffer
Seder dinner with the people I love the most
beautiful, meaningful dishes and heavy crystal bowls
the candles reminding us that Jesus is the Light of the World
ancient words made new again as we speak them together
Amy’s puckery face as she tasted parsley
laughing with my family
watching him lean lanky against the doorframe
with that lazy smile
and the sudden realization that he is becoming a man
magnets that do amazing tricks
sewing and talking with a new friend
the soft hiss of the iron, pressing flat the stubborn rumpled spots 
a crinkly lavender dress with ruffles
“He is Risen, Indeed!”
crosses made of fresh fruit and chocolate
the empty tomb…deliverance once for all
her little face wreathed in smiles as she reaches for me
monster cookies with pastel M&Ms
yellow daffodils

#494-514

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gifts

  1. quilt_cats says:

    Sweet descriptions of those blessings : )  (I made some of those pretty pastel M&M cookies too)

  2. grace_to_be says:

    JUST finished her book 2 nights ago and absolutely loved it~ so good for where i’m at in life right now. got my little notebook on the table and scribbling away those GIFTS day after day. “eucharistic always proceeds the miracle!”amen~have a great weekend. ❤

  3. homefire says:

    @grace2be – I am sipping at it wee bits at a time, wishing I could keep the feeling of her words in my consciousness ALL the time.  Somehow her words hit me straight in the heart, and I don’t want to ever stop reading it!  I saw your post about the children’s gratitude journals–so sweet!  What a beautiful gift to teach them that early!  blessings to you, sister!

Leave a Reply

