Promise

 

Each year I complain, long and loud, about the thaw.  Around here, spring is really messy.  Lots of snow to melt, and it takes awhile.  I’ve had a lot to say about it, if you can believe that.

Today, for the second day in a row, it was above freezing all day.  In fact, the temperatures hit fifty degrees, and I grumped.  It’s not that I don’t want spring to come.  Really.  I love spring as much as anyone.  I just don’t like this in-between time.

The ugly dirty snow, littered with twigs from all the wind we’ve been having

IMG_1415

The constant dripping and pools of water with icy rims

IMG_1419

So when I went out, I fully expected to be depressed.  But instead I realized that I was feeling inordinately cheerful!  The constant sound of running water as it gurgled off roofs combined with a bit of sunshine to make an invigorating and inviting feeling–sort of like walking by a brook.  And that nice warm breeze?   Aaaaah.

And I realized that I really am excited about spring.  It will be nice, after an incredibly cold winter, to go outdoors without bundling up.  It will be nice to see something green besides the pines.  It will be nice to go to bed without shivering while the icy sheets warm up to body temp.

Yes, the pristine white of winter is gone, the snow is dirty and ugly…

but somehow I’m feeling a lot more tolerant of it today.

The promise of Spring is a wonderful thing!  New life, new energy, new hope! 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Promise

  1. mcbery says:

    Yay for spring! I’ve found things under the snow that I remembered from last fall and lots of little branches that came down this winter.  I guess it’s time to put on mud boots and clean around here. Hope you have a great week-end!

  2. fwren says:

    And the birdsong!!  Yesterday, while out and about, the birds were going crazy with singing ~ LOVE it!

  3. Gail2 says:

    So glad and proud of you to look at it in the postive way, hearing the water gurgling, soft breeze,…etc…that’s the way to do it!! I understand the transition from winter to spring, can be a bit messy at times, but it’s far better to look at it the way you described in you blog.! Hurray for you!!! PTL!! Spring is here, come to life!

  4. PeacefulLady says:

    You expressed it exactly!

  5. BooksForMe says:

    We are in the same place, but I am HOPING for more snow. And, I hear we are getting four inches soon. Snow comes but once a year…Spring can wait a little longer!

  6. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe -Well, we GOT more snow.  It started soon after noon yesterday and we’ve gotten at least six inches.

Leave a Reply

