The Big Rock

 

What! Could you not watch with Me one hour?
Matt 26:40

Does God ever say that to me?  How many, many times have I begun to pray…then jerked awake?  Or I find myself wandering off into who knows what random thought, rather than praying to my Lord?  Do I sometimes find my Bible study boring and after a few minutes, wander off to check Facebook instead?  I have to wonder if He just shakes His head as He looks down at me.

I heard the Big Rocks story again recently, and it struck me all over again how much I need to apply it to my life.  If you don’t know what I mean, this is a good portrayal of it.

 

<A href="

 

So I’m asking myself:  Is Jesus my BIG ROCK? 

He is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Psalm 62:7

Can I not “watch with Him” for one hour?
Do I spend more time feeding my body than I do my spirit? 
Am I putting the biggest rocks in first when I plan my day?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Big Rock

  1. BooksForMe says:

    Facebook? Did you cave? 

  2. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – (sheepishly)  yep.  Over Christmas break.

  3. came to your site from inanorchard. wow what an amazing reminder that i need to have. thank you for sharing that….when everything that is important (particularly time spent with the Lord constantly) we will be able to handle all the things that life brings along rather then trying to fit him in when we want to, or when we particularly feel that we have no other choice (which is sometimes where i find myself mistakenly thinking!)

  4. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – LOL I’m glad you’re just a mere mortal like me.

  5. homefire says:

    @mytoesareblue – Thanks for visiting.  Yes, it was a great reminder to me, and I don’t know WHY I need reminding…I’ve proved over and over that it’s true.  :-/  Just a slow learner, I guess.

Leave a Reply

