The Compassion of the Savior and the Confidence of the Saved

 

But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.
Eph 2:13

The condition of the sinner is “far off.”  But next this verse tells us of the compassion of the Savior, by which we are “made nigh.”  He chose to give His life as the ultimate sacrifice, to pour out His own blood, in order to draw us near to Him.  Now THAT is compassion.

The LORD is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion.  Ps. 116:5
The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.  James 5:11

Notice that he is FULL of compassion–not half full, not fairly full, but FULL. 

…a better hope is introduced, by which we draw near to God.  Hebrews 7:19
…let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings  Hebrews 10:22

And that brings us to another important thing in this verse–The Confidence of the Saved.

“But now in Christ Jesus…by the blood of Christ.”  That confidence wraps itself around the entire thought.  Whenever you feel yourself drawing away into yourself, when you feel “far off” again, look at this verse.  It’s not true!  The reassurance is both at the beginning and at the end.  If you have allowed Him to draw you “nigh,” then you are IN Christ Jesus.  If you are IN Him, you can’t get very far away. 

He gave His soul as an atonement offering for my sin.  He was despised and forsaken, so that I could be accepted and loved.  He was called a man of sorrows so that I could become a woman of joy!  He was not esteemed so that I could have great value.  He was pierced for my transgressions and crushed for my iniquities so that I could stand before Him whole.  He was beaten so that I could be healed.  He was judged guilty so that I could stand before Him acquitted.  He allowed His own seeming defeat so that I could be victorious.

We are assured in the Old Testament that “it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life.”  Lev. 17:11  And that is still true.  His blood…the blood of my Jesus.  He paid the price that redeemed me from hopelessness.  I can have perfect confidence in that.

The Condition of the Sinner, the Compassion of the Savior, and the Confidence of the Saved…   So much is said in such a very short verse! 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

