The Condition of the Sinner

 

But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.
Eph 2:13

This verse tells us the condition of the sinner.  Yeah, once that was me…Sinner.
  and that condition is…  far off

Did I ever understand how ……….far off……….. I really was?  Probably not.

Amazing Grace…it really IS amazing.  Amazing because I am, as the song below states, “prone to wander…prone to leave the God I love…”  Whether I care to admit it or not, the flesh is still here, and still rears its ugly head far too often. 

Like Adam and Eve, I desire what is forbidden.  And like them, I do my best to wrap myself in fig leaves.  But just as their fig leaf outfits were woefully inadequate, I can’t begin to cover up my sin.  I frantically sew together leaves, but all I succeed in doing is to present myself as a New Improved Version…of a sinner.

And the LORD God called unto Adam, and said unto him, Where art thou?
Gen 3:9

Why did God ask?  It wasn’t like Juliet’s query to Romeo, truly seeking information.  God, more than anyone, knows exactly where each of us is at any given time.  There was no need for Him to ask!  God asked the question not to learn, but so that Adam would realize where he really was.  Did I know where I was as a sinner?  No.  Not until God called.  I was dead, as Eph 2:1 says, in my sins, but I didn’t even know it!

God calls and asks, “Where are you?”  Not because He needs to know…but because YOU do.

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Condition of the Sinner

  1. mcbery says:

    Thanks for the inspiring thoughts. Love that song. Learned it when I was very young.

Leave a Reply

