Friends

 

13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.
14 You are my friends if you do what I command.
15 I no longer call you servants,
because a servant does not know his master’s business.
Instead, I have called you friends,
for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.
 ~John 15

Friends.  We all like to have them, but do we really ever consider what makes a true friend?  Is it someone you can chat with on the phone?  Someone who goes fishing with you?  Helps you fix your computer?  Someone who calls to tell you that your favorite store is having a sale?  Maybe…  But really, a true friend is a lot more than that.

  • Friends are self-sacrificing.  They serve their friends even when it isn’t convenient or comfortable for them.
  • Friends are forgiving.  They understand that you are human and grant you mercy when you mess up.
  • Friends are caring.  They truly feel bad when you are hurting.
  • Friends are always available.  They take the time to be there when you need them.

But most of all, friends want to be together.  They don’t have to force themselves to schedule time together.  Instead, they are always on the lookout for opportunities. 

In John 15, Jesus calls me his friend.  Sometimes in my zeal to be his follower, I lose sight of the fact that he simply wants to be friends.  He wants to hang out with me, to discuss what’s happening in my life, to just enjoy each other’s company.  Why do I sometimes ignore him when I’m running from one activity to another if he’s my Friend?  Friends want to be together, not because of duty, but because of desire. 

How much do I desire my Jesus?

He has shared with me, more than I can comprehend…am I sharing my life with him?

~~~~~~~~I’m sharing some notes I took over the weekend as well as some of the songs we sang. 
There were just too many good thoughts to keep them all to myself.  More to come.~~~~~~~~

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

