Abducted Again!

 

If you have read my scribblings for a long time, you may remember a particular anniversary when my husband spirited me away without me suspecting a thing.

Well, this weekend he did it again. 

We had gone to Ohio, just hubby and I, and enjoyed an inspiring and uplifting weekend.  Sunday afternoon we were driving home, and after we rehashed how wonderful the weekend had been, I was doing my usual travel routine of dozing off between Sudoku puzzles.  Since I am incredibly observant and never miss a thing, I perked right up when we passed a sign that listed P.F. Chang’s Chinese restaurant.  That is probably my very favorite restaurant and there are none for hours in any direction from our house, so that got my attention.  Looking at my husband’s face, I caught on immediately that he had something up his sleeve.  And I certainly wasn’t about to argue…I’d been craving P.F. Chang’s for months!  I’m not sure exactly when I realized that we had already been on the wrong road for quite some time at that point.  Possibly it was then, or possibly it was after we got home, when he was telling the kids about it.  I’m not saying.

We drove to the restaurant and he went in to “see how long the wait was.”  When he came out again, he said we had some time to kill.  Now if you know my husband, you’ll know that “killing time” is not something he usually views with equanimity, so I was getting quite suspicious.  Especially since it had now dawned on me that when it’s spitting rain and the temperature is around 30 degrees, and it will be getting dark soon, there is not even a remote chance that we would be stopping simply for a leisurely dinner out.  Yep.  I catch on fast.  Sure enough, “killing time” meant finding the Holiday Inn he had reserved and checking in to our jacuzzi room.  Mm-hmmm.  Nice.  I can definitely handle that. 

Once again, the kids knew all about it ahead of time.  Our kids are very, very good at keeping secrets.  That could be disturbing if I thought about it too much,  So I won’t. 

Sometimes I wonder if I am the most UNsuspecting person on the planet.  I mean, how can this man DO these things and pull them off without a hitch?  Especially when I am so extremely observant, you know.

So after a wonderful meal of hot and sour soup, lettuce wraps, honey chicken, and cashew chicken, we hung out in our jacuzzi, ate Godiva chocolate, and watched Forrest Gump again.  It was a wonderfully relaxing and rejuvenating weekend.

Thanks, my love! 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Abducted Again!

  1. mcbery says:

    That is such a neat post. I never heard of P.F. Chang’s but I’ll be watching for it now.

  2. fwren says:

    I love how your man thinks and plans, etc. ~   Love those lettuce wraps too! 

  3. quilt_cats says:

    Wow- he must really be a sweet husband!  My husband was just telling me the other day we needed to go there again (we’ve only been there once for a special date without the kids- and it was years ago- it was so good)

  4. homefire says:

    @mcbery – Definitely check it out!  It is so incredibly much better than those Chinese buffets that are all over the place!  And DO NOT MISS the lettuce wraps.  YUM.@fwren – He amazes me!  How can I be so blessed?@quilt_cats – Yes, he definitely is sweet.    My only criticism of PF Chang’s is that there aren’t nearly enough of them! 

Leave a Reply

