10 Year Old Antiques

 

Have you ever thought about how many things have become obsolete in your lifetime?  I just read an interesting article here that talked about several things that have disappeared over the past ten years, or at least have certainly decreased in use amazingly quickly.  For instance, VHS movies and VCRs , travel agents, wristwatches, maps, newspaper classified ads, encyclopedias, film cameras, fax machines… and unfortunately, the handwritten letter.  Most of those are still around here and there, but get a lot less use than they used to.

I had to think of public phone booths–we rarely see those anymore.

What else can you think of that has disappeared?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 Year Old Antiques

  1. mcbery says:

    I like to keep some of those disappearing things because they still work. I hope it doesn’t get to the place where everything we have has a shorter lifetime like the new light bulbs! Plus those light bulbs are toxic to the environment. What a stupid idea. Of course they make more money because we’re buying more expensive and more light bulbs. Some things just aren’t a ‘bright’ idea. I guess we should just buy oil lamps and protest. Of course then there’s an oil crisis that could change that too. How about candles? Lol! Have a great Sunday.

  2. fwren says:

    Well, I must be the antique, because I still wear a wristwatch, use maps/atlas and a FAX machine.  Why are wristwatches out of date?  But yeah ~ when we get a handwritten letter, I know it must be from the older generations ~ kinda sad, but I’m just as guilty.  And seriously, there aren’t travel agents anymore?  I think land-line phones are quickly becoming passé too, but we hang on to ours ~ it’s the only one that works when the power goes out.  This conversation makes me wonder whether reading God’s Word and having a relationship with Him are also becoming a thing of the past in much of this old world ~ might a lot of this “progress” simply be taking the focus off what is truly precious?

  3. I must be old fashioned. We still get the paper, use a fax machine and maps, AND wear a watch!

  4. mamaglop says:

    Telephone dials. 

  5. homefire says:

    @mamaglop – Oh, good one!  I remember finding an old phone and having to teach our kids how it worked.  They thought it was a lot harder than pushing buttons!  🙂@the_Coley_he_seeks – I wear a watch, too, but just look around at the 20-something set.  Very few of them do–they just look at their phones!@mcbery – Don’t EVEN get me started on the light bulbs!  Did you know that we can’t even manufacture the new bulbs in the US, because of our regulations?  They are actually horribly UNfriendly to the environment.  Figure THAT one out!@fwren – You last line is sobering, but probably true.  I just read a great article by Andree Seu that addressed that–she’s a wonderful thinker!

Leave a Reply

