Baptized Into Moses

 

I want you to know, brothers,
that our fathers were all under the cloud, and all passed through the sea,
and all were baptized into Moses  in the cloud and in the sea,
and all ate the same spiritual food, and all drank the same spiritual drink.
For they drank from the spiritual Rock that followed them, and the Rock was Christ.

1 Corinthians 10:1-4

 

Isn’t it strange how you can read something hundreds of times and one day it suddenly leaps out and shows itself in a whole new light?  Today a friend sent me this scripture in an email, and it hit me that it says “baptized INTO Moses.”  (KJV: “unto”)  I thought, huh??  What in the world does that mean?  How can you be “baptized into” some fallible human being?  I’m baptized into CHRIST, the living God, but how can you be “baptized into” an ordinary guy?  Not that Moses was so very ordinary, I guess, but he WAS just human! 

 

Does baptism in this context simply mean commitment?  That they committed themselves to Moses’s care?  That they saw him as a savior?  Not that they chose Moses from several available options, but that they knew he was their only hope?  That makes sense, because taking off through the desert alone probably wasn’t a very good idea.  It left a person with no protection and no provisions.  And actually, my commitment to Christ is the same.  I can try to make it by myself through this life, but that leaves me at the mercy of all the worst the world has to offer. 

 

Somehow I had never thought of my baptism quite that way.  I usually think of my commitment to Christ more as ~ME~ making a well-reasoned decision to follow Him, rather than ~me~ falling desperately at His feet, clutching at the hem of His garment, knowing that He is my only hope for survival.  It wasn’t a matter of me making the choice to walk over to God’s side of the playing field…it was more a matter of HIM reaching down to give me a hand out of the pit that was my life.  (How could I have forgotten the hell that I existed in before I knew Him?)

 

Another thing that it says is that Christ. the Rock, followed them.  I thought that was odd.  I know that the pillar of cloud or fire went before them, so why does it say that He followed?  It’s just one example of how limited our human minds are that we don’t realize that God can lead and follow, both at the same time!  After all, He is not limited by space or time–he is all around us and through us.  I think of myself as a follower of Christ, but certainly never think of Him following me!  I had to wonder if that wasn’t phrased as it was to remind me that He is pursuing me.  When I am proud and ungrateful and grumbly, like the Israelites were, He is always there wooing me back, reminding me that he is the perfect provision–He is the food that satisfies perfectly, the water that brings eternal life.

 

And that’s exactly what He’s been doing this evening–pursuing.  The email from my friend was His way of reminding me that I have cooled to lukewarm.  He wanted me to see Him again as I did in the beginning, as my Savior, my Messiah.  Not just my Lord, but my only hope.

 

~reaching for the hem of His robe~

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baptized Into Moses

  1. mcbery says:

    Yes, my only Hope. Thank God! Good post.

  2. Thank you for sharing this! 

  3. mcbery says:

    RYC – Some seafood just smells like cat food.I like sardines too.

Leave a Reply

