I Want to be Unnecessary

 

A teacher is one who makes himself progressively unnecessary.
-Thomas Carruthers

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Want to be Unnecessary

  1. BooksForMe says:

    I love that! SO true in homeschooling.

  2. HUMOR_ME_NOW says:

    It is called working yourself out of a job in the corporate work. One of my great pleasures in my 20 moves in 40 years was to always have my replacement trained and a chance to successfully apply for the opening.

  3. I see the ultimate goal of the teacher to be to make the student self-reliant.

  4. quilt_cats says:

    Although it’s good to feel needed, it feels better to know that we are making our children self sufficient.  At least, I hope I am!  Sometimes I really wonder…the doubts of a frantic mom in the middle of her oldest daughter’s senior year : )

  5. homefire says:

    @quilt_cats – I know what you mean…that feeling of “oh no, what have we missed?”

Leave a Reply

