Sick Day with a Bright Spot

 

I was feeling a little blue this morning because I couldn’t go to church.  Yesterday I started feeling achy, then spent the afternoon and evening wrapped in blankets, teeth chattering.  Fever is so nasty.  I also have an irritating little cough which is making my throat sore, not to mention my stomach muscles.  And the worst thing is, that when Mom’s sick…there’s no one to take care of her–fluff her pillows and fix her toast and a hot cup of tea.  (whine)  But this morning I do actually feel better…good enough to sit up and type, which certainly wasn’t happening yesterday. 

I was particularly disappointed since my husband is giving the message today and I have to miss it.    So I was wandering around LightSource trying to decide who would be my preacher today.  I chose Adrian Rogers, and it was an excellent choice.  His subject was the unpardonable sin, but one of the things I really loved was his discussion of the sin against reason.  How many times have you heard people say that they don’t want to go to church because of the hypocrites in the church?  He said that is a sin against reason!  Anyone knows, if they think about it, that that argument is completely unreasonable.  It just doesn’t make any sense!  When you find a counterfeit bill among your money, do you get rid of all your money?  Some doctors are quacks, but when you’re sick, you still find a doctor.  Some lawyers are shysters, but when you need legal advice, you still look for a lawyer.  He pointed out that only things of worth are counterfeited–$50 bills? Yes.  Gum wrappers?  No.  If there weren’t something of value within the church, no one would be counterfeiting it.  The presence of hypocrites in the church is proof that there is something there worth having!  Neat thought.

I am trying to take VERY good care of myself so that I can get well very, very fast, because I do NOT want to be sick when my grandchild is born…which could be ANY day!    I’m off to make myself some toast and tea.

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sick Day with a Bright Spot

  1. fwren says:

    So hoping you get well quickly ~ for goodness sake, take something powerful to knock this bug OUT!! 

Leave a Reply

