Not Amused

 

Postman wraps up the book with a comparison of Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World and George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four. 

In America, Orwell’s prophecies are of small relevance, but Huxley’s are well under way toward being realized. 

To put it plainly, a student’s freedom to read is not seriously injured by someone’s banning a book…

Television does not ban books, it simply displaces them…It does everything possible to encourage us to watch continuously.  But what we watch is a medium which packages information as entertainment.  In America, we are never denied the opportunity to amuse ourselves.

This book was published in 1985.  It would be interesting to know how much reading has declined since then.  If someone began to ban books, we would immediately rise up in indignation, demanding our rights.  But when everyone is parked in front of the TV, they hardly notice when the libraries close for lack of interest.  One of the outlying branches in our library system may be closing soon.  Sad, isn’t it?

How often do you read a book?  Do you read less than you did five years ago? 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not Amused

  1. mcbery says:

    I wonder what they will do with all the books? I love collecting old books but probably I’ll never read all of them. I’d love to have a library full of books I collected. I guess we can always dream. People should read old books too. Some of them have a lot of truth that’s been forgotten. I wonder how they keep on building new schools and roads and shut down libraries? One has to think perhaps it’s intentional?

  2. I would like to get a Kindle:)Oh, and also a Droid:)

  3. homefire says:

    @mcbery – I think it’s intentional all right.  Fits into Satan’s plans quite nicely that we would be less literate, don’t you think?  The brain connections formed by watching TV are far less intricate than those formed by reading–in fact watching TV usually involves less brain activity than staring at a blank wall!  Interesting, yes?  The more we watch, the dumber we are, and the more easily led.@THE_LORDS_FREEMAN – Have you used one?  I would like to try it out and see if I liked it.

  4. @homefire – I downloaded Kindle for PC from the Amazon.com website.  I love it.  I’d like it better if I could hold it in my hand like a book.  Classics are free and digital copies of contemporary works might be 1/3 to 1/2 cost of paper.  I wish folks could legally sell “used” digital copies online tho:)I really think that in a year or so a “Droid” phone would allow me to pretty much get rid of the desktop computer.  I could hook it to a BIG monitor on the wall when doing taxes, etc., online.  So many toys, so many possibilities:)

  5. homefire says:

    @THE_LORDS_FREEMAN – You don’t get tired of reading onscreen?  I have quite a few ebooks that I haven’t read because I just get sick of it.  I would like to try a handheld, though.

  6. @homefire – A fellow I work with knows a lot more about electronic gizmos than I do.  He bought his wife one of the bigger Kindles a while back and now wishes he had one of the newer, smaller, cheaper ones.  I use a LCD monitor, so the only thing that bothers me about Kindle for PC is the crick I get in my neck.  I would prefer sitting in the recliner with a wireless Kindle in my hand, downloading books, etc.  If I can deny myself a while longer, perhaps a cross between the Apple iPad and the Kindle for around a hundred bucks would do the job:)

  7. Aah, books are my weakness!   I read less than I used to, but read books with more substance.

Leave a Reply

