Fortunetelling

 

During Bible study Thursday, we were discussing Paul’s time in Philippi, and this passage came up.

Once when we were going to the place of prayer, we were met by a slave girl who had a spirit by which she predicted the future. She earned a great deal of money for her owners by fortune-telling.   Acts 16:16

The question was asked, “So demons can see the future?” 

What do you think?  And why?

 

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fortunetelling

  1. BooksForMe says:

    I say, “No,” because I believe only God is omniscient and omnipresent. I think demons can know things about a person’s past, or facts of their life. Then, based on what they can see, they can “predict” things. They cannot discern our heart, our intents. They cannot read our mind. However, they can hear our words, read our writing, and assess our behavior.  They can also hear and read what others say about us, or are doing in relation to us. I think those things combined give enough information to allow for “predictions.”  Then, having made a “prediction” over a person, they can be sure to influence actions to make sure their prediction comes to pass, feeding the deception. It’s trickery using a willing human vessel.

  2. I think BooksForMe has a good point.  I’ve always heard it said, and I also believe it, that only a true prophet of God is 100% accurate in their predictions.  Lucifer has enough skills that he is able to fool a lot of folks;  horoscopes are a case in point.

  3. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – @THE_LORDS_FREEMAN – I agree with you on this.  The reason I asked was because the lady who was leading the Biuble study immediately ansered that yes, they could, at least a little.  I don’t agree, and I was a little taken aback by her very decisive answer, so I wanted input from others.  I think we can attribute their limited success in such things to the fact that demons are not only invisible, but have nothing better to do than to follow us around and watch us when we think no one is watching.

  4. BooksForMe says:

    @homefire – @THE_LORDS_FREEMAN – Something I was just thinking about as I read Homefire’s reply: “Predicting” doesn’t mean “correctly foretelling.”  It just means “foretelling.” 

Leave a Reply

