More Strangeness

 

I just looked at my footprints again, and discovered the oddest thing.  Not only do I have people from multiple countries hanging out (far more non-xanga visitors than xanga users) but a huge majority of them were looking at one particular post from a couple of years ago.  I can’t see that there is anything provocative or compelling about that post, I can’t see any hot-button keywords, but for some reason that little musing of mine is attracting hits.  Go figure.      Here’s a link to the post Sum of the Parts  See if you have any guesses as to why Russia, Luxembourg, Ukraine, and a bunch of others are so interested in it. 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Strangeness

  1. Hmmm.  That is very interesting indeed.  FWIW, I tend to get a bunch of hits from Russia, Luxembourg, Ukraine, etc.  And the vast majority of the footprints on my posts are non-Xanga users– or perhaps Xanga users who are not signed-in.    I have sometimes wondered how accurate the information is regarding the location of the visitors.  One time I tried an experiment when I was online in an airport.  I visited my own site when I was not signed in.  Then I signed in and looked at the footprints to see what location my own footprint would indicate.  If memory serves me, I think the footprint that I had left when I was not signed in indicated that I was in a completely different location than I was.  That led me to the conclusion that the location function was perhaps not as reliable as we would like to think.

  2. the_grat says:

    there you go… causing an international stir… lol

  3. homefire says:

    @the_grat –   Hey, girl, it is GREAT to see you!  I was just thinking about you mere minutes ago, and here you are.  How about an email to tell me what extraordinary things have happened in your life the past year or so?  Or however long it’s been…@davidpendleton – interesting…my footprints have always shown Michigan on mine when I wasn’t signed in, as far as I know, but that does make you wonder.

  4. fwren says:

    I have two past posts that regularly get lots of hits ~ one I can understand ~ the other leaves me totally clueless.  The one is about hollyhock dolls ~ okay, I guess someone might type that in.  But the one about the crazy robin bashing into our windows?  Beats me! 

  5. homefire says:

    @fwren – Oh, I can see why peoplw might google that.  When a bird keeps hitting your window, it gets annoying–they may be trying to figure out how to stop it!

  6. walkintrust says:

    My dear, you must be a secret spy.  We must get together again before you go to jail!

Leave a Reply

