Strange

 

Why has the international traffic on my blog picked up exponentially?  Granted, I haven’t checked footprints for absolutely ages, but it used to be pretty infrequent to see other countries listed.  Today, just on a whim, I browsed my history, and just in the past 2-3 days I’ve had visits from GOBS of different countries:  Germany, Latvia, Ukraine, Russia, Netherlands, Spain, Israel, Korea, Sri Lanka, Sweden, and probably others I’m forgetting right now.  In fact, I’d say that I’m getting almost as many hits from outside the country as inside.  Is that weird?  Are those countries just now starting to monitor American internet, or did they just discover xanga, or what?

And they never leave comments.  I’m hurt. 

While browsing around my private pages I discovered something else.  A large percentage of the people who I’m subscribed to haven’t posted on xanga for a year or more.  Hmmm.   No wonder I don’t spend as much time here as I used to! 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Strange

  1. It’s so much easier to make a quick status update than a full blog post.  I hear ya- nobody’s here anymore!

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Interesting. You are clearly appealing to the masses! I’ve got a lot of folks who don’t post, too. Or, haven’t in over a year. Will you drop them? I’ve been tempted, but then one will drop a comment and I think, “Well, maybe they’re getting back into it!”  I have had some revive their posting.

  3. Alle_in_Ashe says:

    i’ve had a huge hike in visitors from other counties, too, just here lately. I’m getting a LOT of hits from “Ukraine” and i had thought it was because of my adoption posts but it’s possible that these countries have just now stumbled onto the xanga phenom.

  4. fwren says:

    Just out of curiosity, I kept track for awhile of the countries that had visited my site ~ all 50 states and 69 countries.  Places like Macau, Malta, Qatar, Senegal, Ghana, etc. ~ and yes, lots of Ukraine hits.  It has puzzled me why on earth they would be on my site ~ once in awhile, someone from one of those countries would leave a comment, but usually not.  It has been interesting, but sure wish I knew the answer as to why?

  5. ElizabethDNB says:

    I think it is because when somebody does a google search in another country we get hit due to key words in our posts.  That is the trail that I usually find when following those tracks.YEs, I know!  I could totally erase half my subscriptions!  Probably more.

  6. mcbery says:

    I hardly ever look at my footprints either. I don’t have time.I need to go see who’s spying on me. So true about leaders being just. I think that’s all we want is fairness. That would go a long way.

  7. malikimran says:

    It is very important to generate a good attitude, a good heart, as much as possible. From this, happiness in both the short term and the long term for both yourself and others will come.Dalai Lama

  8. quilt_cats says:

    I’ve been wondering the same thing- I have lots of people who never post anymore.  It does seem  weird on the footprints.  

Leave a Reply

