Just hangin’

 

I woke up this morning at 6:30 because a kitten was mewing insistently outside our bedroom.  It sounded strange–at first I thought it might be a bird–but it just wouldn’t quit and was really getting on my nerves.  So I got up and went outdoors to look for it.  I kept hearing the sharp little mew, but could NOT find it.  Finally I spotted it–in the little gap between the retaining wall and the fuel tank.  Yes, it was stuck there, its head wedged into the narrow space, just hanging there!  POOR little thing!  It must have fallen off the retaining wall.  I sort of panicked because I couldn’t reach it, but dh came out and stood on a bucket, reached over the tank, got hold of it somehow, and pulled it back up.  I was afraid it would be hurt, but he put it back up on the deck and it scampered over to its mama, evidently none the worse for the experience. 

It was quite a sight, the poor baby hanging by its head, completely helpless, its big eyes beseeching me to save it.  And I was a little disturbed that the mother, though she was certainly within hearing distance, didn’t seem terribly concerned.  She wasn’t even trying to help.  I realize there was nothing she could do, but shouldn’t she have been standing over her little one, wringing her hands (or tail or whatever?)  But maybe she knew that her baby needed more help than she could possibly provide.

It made me realize that I have been in just such hopeless situations, and often looked to my peers or my family or my church or some new program to save me.  But what I needed was Someone bigger than me, Someone with more resources than I can even fathom, to reach in from above and scoop me up. 

And when I stand in the mama cat’s place, except that I’m wringing my hands and stressing, even when there’s nothing I can do… I need to rest.  I need to realize that sometimes, it’s out of my power.  I need to trust that Someone bigger will take care of it.

Thank God for His grace and provision.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just hangin’

  1. fwren says:

    Amen and amen ~ thanks for sharing this ~

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Excellent illustration! Very true revelation!

  3. quilt_cats says:

    Hmm- it is weird that the Mama cat didn’t at least pretend to be concerned for her little one.  Good illustration on the concept of trust. 

Leave a Reply

