Quote of the Day–a Sign of the Times

 

 “Til death do us part” is a vestige of a time when life expectancy wasn’t much lower.
Given the normal span of our lives these days, such a vow is totally unrealistic.
~Sally Quinn, Washington Post

After I cut and pasted this, I realized the first sentence must have a typo.  By the context, I think she meant “WAS much lower.”  To read the entire article click here

But be forewarned…it nearly made me sick.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quote of the Day–a Sign of the Times

  1. fwren says:

    This quote alone is sickening ~ bleh!  Come quickly, Lord Jesus ~

  2. quilt_cats says:

    Talk about discouraging.  Quinn sounding so upbeat about a divorce and painting it as being the right thing for people after their kids leave the nest… Nobody ever said it would be easy, but what a sad world we live in.

  3. There are so many things that are convoluted in Quinn’s article that your warning about it “nearly making you sick” is surely an understatement.I didn’t read all the comments below the article, but I was struck by this statement by Quinn in the article…”Then, just as she [Tipper] was about to become First Lady, a role that would give her the clout to make a difference, the Supreme Court handed the presidency to George W. Bush. Al won the election but lost the presidency, a devastating turn of events that sent him into a deep depression.”There are so many comments that could be made by that ridiculous statement alone that I hardly know where to begin!God bless you, Homefire.(BTW, I always enjoy listening to your music when I come to your site.)

  4. BooksForMe says:

    Yeah, I think I’ll skip that article.  The quote is enough.  Yuck!

  5. ElizabethDNB says:

    People need to justify immorality.  I have done it myself many times.

  6. homefire says:

    @davidpendleton – Yeah, I thought about commenting on that quote, but as you said…it’s beyond words.  Glad you like the music. 

Leave a Reply

