Wish I’d Been at the Beach Thursday Morning!

 

There was a rather unusual phonmenon called a seiche.  That’s pronounced |saysh| and it’s kind of like a small tidal wave.  You can click on the link to see a very simple diagram of it.  Since this particular one was heading toward the Wisconsin side, it made an extremely low tide on the Michigan side.  A guy who was bulldozing sand on the beach describes it in this article.  Basically, it meant you could walk all the way out to the first sandbar on dry land!  Is that cool or what?  I think it would be very neat to see.  It’s always amazing to me how just a few inches difference in the lake water levels can make many feet of difference in the beach.  The lake was up a couple inches last summer, and it cut the beach area at our favorite spot in half!  This time, even though the water receded about 50 feet from the shoreline, it was probably only about 18 inches difference in water depth.

Makes me wonder how it looked on the Wisconsin side.  There have been seiches on Lake Michigan that were big enough to wash people away, but not for quite a few years. 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wish I’d Been at the Beach Thursday Morning!

  1. bafocus_2 says:

    I think there is a Dirk Pitt novel about these in the ‘Black Sea”…….I can’t remember for sure…….now I’m curious, I’ll have to find the book.

  2. ElizabethDNB says:

    I have never heard of that before!  I wonder if it happens around here on our coast?

  3. homefire says:

    @bafocus_2 – Interesting!  I’ll have to ask my boys–I think they’ve read all the Dirk pitt novels they could get their hands on.  @ElizabethDNB – Which coast are you on?  I’d never heard of it either, so I’m guessing it doesn’t happen too often.  They say Erie has the most, because it is so shallow and has a long east-west spread.

  4. bafocus_2 says:

    @homefire – Found it….it is in a book called “Treasure of Khan” and the lake is in Siberia called Lake Baikal from 2007

  5. ElizabethDNB says:

    @homefire – we live by the beach in southern california

  6. homefire says:

    @ElizabethDNB – I’m guessing that in the ocean this wouldn’t happen except on a huge scale (tsunami) because the weather conditions needed would have to be pretty extreme.  It’s caused by strong winds, and the chances of  strong winds persisting all the way across the ocean would be slim.

  7. homefire says:

    @bafocus_2 – Yep, ds remembered it, too.  He’s pretty much addicted to Clive.    And I’m good with that because they happen to contain a lot of history and interesting info, like seiches, for isntance.    We went to Auburn Cord Duesenberg museum yesterday, which was quite fun, and brought some discussion of Cussler’s car collection.  Did you know that he actually owns the classic cars that he talks about in his books?

  8. bafocus_2 says:

    I believe that I have heard that somewhere along the line. I do enjoy his books and have learned things like that from them. However I’m pretty sure that’s not the top reason I read them. On another front…….anyone from MI coming to OH this weekend? We’d love to see some of ya’.

  9. homefire says:

    @bafocus_2 – I think Mustards, Brovonts and McCoys are coming.  We are still up in the air…we’ll see.

  10. bafocus_2 says:

    OK. We’ll keep an eye out. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

