Modesty

 

A few years ago, Nancy Leigh DeMoss did a series on modesty.  If you missed it, you should check it out on the Revive Our Hearts website.  The one I listened to this morning was Philosophies in Conflict –very convicting!  One thing she said that really struck me was that  a woman who dresses immodestly is giving away something that doesn’t belong to her, because your body is not your own.  She had some really interesting thoughts on ownership, lordship, and citizenship.  I recommend it!

 

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Modesty

  1. mcbery says:

    I was taught modesty and still believe in it, always will. I hope your Sunday is great. Why am I up so early. I’d rather be sleeping!

  2. homefire says:

    @mcbery – ooh, that IS early!  Wishing you a beautiful Mother’s Day with a nice nap included! 

  3. ElizabethDNB says:

    Very interesting!  It is so hard teaching modesty in such an immodest culture.  Even some of the girls around us who I know are very good girls, and not behaving in an inappropriate manner, dress as if they would.  I find it very disturbing.  I find it even more disturbing when the moms seem to encourage it, as if it is cute to be flirty in your dress.

  4. homefire says:

    @ElizabethDNB – Yes, it’s such an easy trap to fall into.  Even when I know perfectly well what’s appropriate and what’s not, it’s sometimes hard to explain that to my 13 yr old daughter when she wants a top just because it’s cute!  She doesn’t even notice that it’s tight and tends to ride up.  All they can see at that age is that it’s what others are wearing.  Plus the fact that when we see it over and over, especially on people we like, we can get used to it and start to excuse it.  I can see how some moms might cave.  That’s why I was excited to find this series.  Nacy goes into a lot of things that really go against the flow of modern culture and make you think about it a lot more seriously.  I’m considering having my daughter listen to it.

Leave a Reply

