Who am I building?

 

I heard some truly insightful advice during an online seminar today. 

When there is a choice about
whether to make your spouse look good
or to make yourself look good,
always choose your spouse.

Wow.  Is that a powerful thought or what?  How different might life be if I managed to always do that?  How many, many times have I wanted to justify myself?  It wasn’t MY fault, after all!  If we’d done things MY way, this problem would have never happened.  Not just with my husband, but with my children, with everyone, I find myself doing this.  I have to defend myself, naturally…

But that just just the problem!  What comes naturally is NOT the best way to create good rapport and solid relationships. 
To build someone up, you have to quit blaming them! 
If I want to have a happy marriage, happy children, and friends who truly like to be around me, I think this is the key.

How easy it is to miss the most obvious things!

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who am I building?

  1. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    Wow… this is so powerful and insightful yet so simple.  Isn’t the best advice ALWAYS that way???

Leave a Reply

