Homeschooled Writers

 

Does anyone besides me struggle with teaching kids to write?  Why is it that I have trouble assigning research papers and such?  Probably it’s partly because I hear so much groaning that it seems easier to put it off until tomorrow.  And you know that thing about tomorrow never arriving…  So the best we usually do is to simply write something every day. 

Anyway, I found rather a nifty little thing online that has some good writing ideas.  It’s at http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/proverbsfamily/774822/?#c1401853 and it’s called a Writing Prompts Calendar.  Each day has an idea for something to write about.  Some are deep, some are amusing, some are a little flaky, but it’s a worthwhile resource for daily writing ideas.  I think she makes a new one every month, and offers it free, so definitely worth checking when your mind is devoid of creative topics to give to your kids.  I thought it might even be good for me to use occasionally.  We’ll see.

Right now my kids are writing short stories (or maybe novels, if they keep at it!) a few paragraphs at a time, but if those start to fizzle out, I hope to use some of these ideas to jumpstart their writing.  Just thought I’d share the link in case anyone else has kids who groan that they don’t know what to write about! 

And by the way, that blogger is holding a giveaway of one of her e-books right now, so check that out, too.  I do love free stuff.  Yes, I do.   

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homeschooled Writers

  1. walkintrust says:

    Time to be in bed, Girl!!!  Glad to see you writing again:)

  2. BooksForMe says:

    Letting Hannah blog did a lot for her writing.  She knew she couldn’t be lazy about it—use made-up words, bad spelling, grammar, or punctuation.  Also, I would give her short research papers—I definitely tried to avoid the groans. 

  3. ElizabethDNB says:

    We have enjoyed using text books from Write Source in the past, but have transitioned more into IEW over the last year, and really love that as well. 

  4. homefire says:

    @ElizabethDNB – I have coveted IEW for several years, but really didn’t think we could spend the $$.  Love his stuff!  We’re using Fix-It Grammar and it is really a good program for upper grades.@BooksForMe – Blogging works for my daughter, who likes to write anyway, but the boys aren’t interested.  I guess it’s not cool@walkintrust – Time for ME to be in bed?  What were YOU doing up at almost TWO IN THE MORNING?????  Hmmm? 

  5. dissertation says:

    I have been visiting various blogs for my research papers help. I have found your blog to be quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information… Regards

Leave a Reply

