Chosen

 

God chose me before the foundation of the world. He chose me.    He. Chose. ME.

I have heard it preached that God chose me because he knew before the foundation of the world that I would choose him. That would mean that ultimately I made the choice, not God. It doesn’t matter that God made the choice way back then–time makes no difference to God. If he only chose me because I chose to follow him, then I am the one in control. He is only responding to my choice. But if that’s the case, he is not sovereign. I made the choice, and mine was the deciding factor.

Since I know that I am not in control but God is in control, that can’t be true. Which means that
                                                God Chose Me.
Way back before the first glimmerings of time he decided all by himself, with no input from me, that he wanted me in his kingdom.

Me.   In all my lameness.
No spotless lamb here……….  No, I’m fundamentally flawed and visibly marred.
I’m not worth much by the world’s standards.
I know all too well that there is
nothing in me that can produce something beautiful for God.
He chose
the foolish, the weak, the base, the despised-check them off, one at a time. Yes…that’s me.
Yet God sees something there that the rest of us are unable to see–something that he loves.
He decided that I was precious to him and he wanted me for his child.

I remember the day that I chose to believe in God.  At least… I thought I did. I’ve shared the testimony several times, how I peered into the gate of hell and saw that blackness, that desperate, empty, mind-shredding oblivion, and realized that I had no choice but to believe. I simply couldn’t go on living without it. There was no peace without faith in God.

I did see that scene. I did choose. But I really had no choice. It wasn’t my sovereign decision. Who enabled me to make that choice?
God did. All I did was to cry out to God that I needed him, I had to have him, that I couldn’t go on living without him. It was more a realization than a choice. I simply had my eyes opened to the fact that I could not go any farther alone.

The fact that God, who makes no mistakes, chose me is really exciting simply because that makes it possible. Since he chose me, that means that I will make it. He knows all my shortcomings, and whenever I tend to despair about my shallowness and depravity, my faults and scars and blemishes, I have to remember that he knows all about them. In fact, he sees the ugliness that I don’t even know about–the deep dark places of my soul that I can’t even admit exist.
And in spite of that, he chose me, and he is supremely able to shape me into the being that will be his perfect child.
Because he chose me, I am able to blossom and eventually bear the fruit that he desires.

But I am so impatient. I get frustrated because I don’t see the fruit in my life. I shake the bars of my earthly cage and howl in frustration that I cannot become perfect. I forget that not all fruit grows on trees in plain sight. Perhaps my fruit is more like a potato…or a peanut… which grows underground and you can’t really tell until harvest time exactly what is there.

Whenever I get discouraged and feel like I’m letting him down, I have to remember that
I can’t possibly let God down….
because I am not holding him up!
He is the one who is supporting me, and never will let me down. When I fail, there is a purpose. He is showing me how hopeless I am without him. And when I have learned that lesson yet again, he gently guides me into a new opportunity
                                                                              
Come on child, try again.
                                                                                            And this time, don’t rush in all by yourself. 
                                                                                                       
Lean on me.
                                                                                                                   Follow my lead.
                                                                                                                               Let me fight the battle.

 

Thank you, Abba
for choosing me.
I don’t know why you did
I know I have never deserved it
but thank you anyway.
Help me trust you
and not run ahead of you.
Teach me more about you
so that I may know you
and the power of your
resurrection.

 

(click on the underlined links to see Scripture references)

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Chosen

  1. Hutch5 says:

    amen!! so grateful for His grace~

  2. fwren says:

    “I can’t possibly let God down….because I am not holding him up!” ~ wow ~ I really like that quote!  In our study of John 17 at BSF ~ I had never noticed before how often it says in that chapter that God gave believers to Jesus as a GIFT.  And because His Father was the giver of the gift, Jesus TREASURES us.  Do you have a gift in your house that is kind of unlovely, etc., ~ a gift that is precious to you simply because of who gave it to you?  Because God gave us to Jesus, we too are precious to Him ~ so precious that He died for us.  When that thought hit me that week at Bible study ~ wow.  It has stuck with me.  Thanks for this post, dear friend ~ blessings to you ~ 

  3. homefire says:

    @fwren – I love that thought…the unlovely gift that is made precious because of the Giver.  Very sweet.  Thanks for sharing it!

  4. musterion99 says:

    But if that’s the case, he is not sovereign. I made the choice, and mine was the deciding factor.Calvinists always come to this erroneous conclusion. God is sovereign, even in allowing us to choose because he and he only made the sovereign decision to create us with the ability to choose him or reject him. To obey him or disobey him. So it’s false to say God is not sovereign. He is still able to accomplish his will while allowing us to choose. Now in saying all that, we cannot choose him until he draws us to himself. He draws us and then allows us to either receive hi or reject him.

  5. homefire says:

    @musterion99 – hmmm.  And it was all so clear to me this morning!  It figures that someone would have to muddy the waters. I’m not sure what being a Calvinist entails…I’m not one that I know of, though.  Just a Bible reader.

  6. musterion99 says:

    @homefire – I’m not sure what being a Calvinist entails…I’m not one that I know of, though.haha – You are but you just don’t realize it. There’s 5 points of Calvinism called TULIP. I won’t get into the whole doctrine, but what you said about God choosing us and you not having any choice but to choose is one of the teachings of Calvinism. I’m also just a bible reader and I don’t agree with all of Calvinism. If you’re interested, I’d be happy to answer any questions you have. The bottom line though is that it doesn’t really matter if I chose to believe or you were forced to believe because you didn’t have any choice to not believe. What’s important is that we’re both saved!

  7. LOVE THIS!!  The thoughts of my heart spilled out on your site.  He adores us…He loves us…Thank you for sharing.

  8. walkintrust says:

    So why do we sometimes spend years praying for someone we love?  After all, maybe God hasn’t chosen them?  Or if He has, won’t they ultimately come to Him without any prayers in their behalf?  Not disagreeing with you, specifically.  Just trying to think this through.  Blessings.

  9. homefire says:

    @musterion99 – You said “haha – You are but you just don’t realize it”  –You’re assuming that I am a follower of Calvin just because I came to one conclusion that agrees with him?    That must mean you’re a Calvinist, too, then, if you agree with some of Calvinism!  Actually, I seriously rebel at labels, so please don’t slap a label on me.  I think it’s wrong, frankly, to model ourselves after men rather than after Christ.  My brothers, some from Chloe’s household have informed me that there are quarrels among you. What I mean is this: One of you says, “I follow Paul”; another, “I follow Apollos”; another, “I follow Cephas”; still another, “I follow Christ.” Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized into the name of Paul?  1 Cor 1: 11-13  See what I mean?  Back to the actual issue here…  What do you think the word predestined means?  He predestined us to adoption as sons… Eph 1:5  If he hasn’t already chosen who will be saved, what does that mean?  And what exactly were we chosen for before the foundation of the world?  We were chosen in Christ…  I’m just not seeing how it can be a matter of our choosing when I read Eph. 1.  And yet it gets confusing, either way you think of it.@walkintrust – Good question.  And the only answer I can think of is that we express our own hearts through our prayers for others.  Even if we pray for someone in vain all our lives, I think that God is pleased by our faith, perseverance, and compassion.  And obviously, I don’t know for sure about any of this.  I’m only saying what seems right to me at the moment.  Always open to further enlightenment. 

  10. musterion99 says:

    @homefire – —You’re assuming that I am a follower of Calvin just because I came to one conclusion that agrees with him?I’m saying that what you believe is what Calvinism teaches.That must mean you’re a Calvinist, too, then, if you agree with some of Calvinism! I believe in some things of Calvinism and some things that disagree with Calvinism. You’re right. You may not be a 5 point Calvinist.Actually, I seriously rebel at labels, soplease don’t slap a label on me.  I think it’s wrong, frankly, to modelourselves after men rather than after Christ. I agree! But Christians that claim to model themselves after Christ do not agree on every doctrine, so in a way it’s kind of moot to say that, although it sounds nice.What do you think the word predestined means? I believe God predestines “some” things but not everything. People that believe God predestines everything run into all kinds of problems. For instance, that would lead to the absurd conclusion that every time a little child is molested, God predestined it and desired it to happen. When it comes to salvation, Peter tells us that we are “elected” according to  God’s foreknowledge. God foreknew whether we would choose to believe in him or reject him. We were chosen in ChristExactly! God foreknows those that will believe in Christ and chooses us according to his foreknowledge.And yet it gets confusing, either way you think of it.I don’t think it’s confusing at all.

  11. musterion99 says:

    @walkintrust – I agree with you. Calvinists go through mental gymnastics to try and answer that. Why would we want to witness to somebody that God doesn’t love enough to choose to save? Makes absolutely no logical sense.

  12. homefire says:

    @musterion99 – You said, “I don’t think it’s confusing at all”  –Bully for you!  Can’t say that I share that opinion.

  13. musterion99 says:

    @homefire – That’s ok. I don’t have a problem with that. Like I said, if you do have any other questions, I’d be glad to answer them. God bless!

  14. BooksForMe says:

    I don’t think we can fully grasp the wonder of God’s sovereignty. Our brains are too tiny, and our faith is to weak.One of my favorite songs is called “You Chose Me.  Sometimes, I really wish John Calvin and Jacobus Arminius had kept their opinions to themselves. 

  15. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Amen to that last statement.  Why is that humans feel such a need to pigeonhole each other?  Drives me nuts!

  16. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – Hey, that looks like a familiar name, right?  Did he write it?  It’s a very lovely song.

Leave a Reply

