And Time went on whether or no, as he has a way of doing…
 
Charles Dickens
in Great Expectations
 
 
Yes, I know.  I haven’t posted anything for a long time.  I think perhaps I haven’t wanted to face myself.  It’s easier to throw out a video here, or an article there, rather than talk about life.  Especially when life isn’t exactly as you expected it to be.
 
So this morning I sit and face myself, whether I like it or not.  The busy, busy days are past.  The retreat we organized is over… the wedding I had to make a dress for, alter a suit for, and travel to…is over.  Spring has come waltzing in far earlier than expected, the sun is shining, my husband and son have work, and really, life looks amazingly good.  So why do I have this mist of uncertainty dogging my heels? 
 
I sat in worship yesterday and rejoiced that He is RISEN!  Yet I wonder…  Am I?  According to Gal 2:20, I was crucified with Christ, and in Col 3:1 it says I should be risen with Him as well. 
 
Am I risen?  Do those around me see rejoicing in my spirit?  Do they see that I am a new creature whose mind is set on higher things?  Is my life new and improved in Jesus Christ, or simply warmed-over leftovers, dressed up a bit with fresh garnish, trying to look fresh and new?
 
Those are the doubts that plague me.  Every time I find myself pondering unprofitable things like whether I look older/fatter/uglier than the woman beside me or being critical of someone’s hairstyle, I realize again how very base and miserable I am. 
 
Set your mind on the things that are above, not on the things that are upon the earth.
Col 3:2
 
Oh, yes…snag that wandering thought and bring it into captivity. 
 
… we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ
2 Cor 10:5
 
So many of my thoughts are wanderers, unprofitable servants who really have no purpose.  If only I could manage to round them all up, give them a pep talk, and send them out on specific organized missions, with a purpose and a plan, and ignoring all distractions.
 
These nomadic thoughts can take lots of different forms besides being critical or self-absorbed, like the ones above.  I also find my thoughts wandering into the realm of pipedreams–the desires that aren’t realistic and I probably wouldn’t even want if it came right down to it–and of worries. 
 
The thing that all those sidetracked thoughts have in common is that they are not Truth.  And as a Christian, I don’t have permission to think about things that are not Truth.
 
Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise,
think on these things.
Phil 4:8
 
When you’re thinking “I wonder… [if they like me, if she is truly as happy as she seems, if he really means what he says, etc.]  remember that anything you wonder is not true.  It is speculation.  Wonderings are wanderings.
 
When you’re tempted to worry about what might happen, remember that if it has not yet happened, then it is NOT Truth.  If you have dreamed up a dozen different outcomes and figured out how you would deal with each one, you have done nothing except waste time.  It’s very likely that none of them will be exactly what happens, and it’s also more than likely that whatever course you have decided on will turn out quite differently than you planned.  Pray for guidance, endurance, and wisdom, and then trust in God that He is perfectly able to handle the situation.  Then turn your energies to doing the task that is before you today.
 
I know that we are often encouraged to think positive thoughts about the future–but remember, those things are not Truth either.  I’m not saying not to hope.  It is a good thing to hope, to pray for a good thing, but it is not right to dwell on it, to develop it, to live in it.  The pipedreams can take over your life, and soon you find yourself “living for the When.” 
 
When I get rich…
   When I get married…
      When I retire…
         When I find a job I love…
            When I have more time…
 
The problem with dwelling on those dreams is that you focus your attention on them, and may miss the opportunity in the here and now that could lead to something even better than you could possibly dream.
 
Don’t live for the When…
Live for now.  Do the next thing, as Elisabeth Elliott said.
 
It’s not just the impure, dishonest, unlovely thoughts that we need to be reining in–it’s the UNTRUE ones.
 
I watched a girl this weekend whose face had a radiance that shone in a very unusual way.  She simply looked peaceful.  And radiating peace is a virtue that I certainly seek.  Does my life radiate the peace of my Savior?  I think that the only way it can is if unruly thoughts are rounded up and marked with the brand of Truth and Loveliness before being released again.  If I am not meditating on Truth in my own thoughts, how can peace reign in me and be shed abroad to others?
 
If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above
Col 3:1
 
Am I risen with Christ?  Does my life show it?
 
 
 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. quilt_cats says:

    Phil. 4:8 is always a good  reminder to me to keep my thoughts on the good stuff- the blessings in my life.  Sometimes it’s easy to sink into those depressing and critical thoughts, usually comparing my life/looks/house/finances/etc to someone elses, but then I kick myself and realize that I will never be content if I do that.  By the way, I love the songs on your playlist.  Beautiful!

  2. Ho-hum…………we are human after all and sinners. It is a good point and worthy of keeping at the top of my list to keep in mind when I once again fall into that habit of thoughts that get out of control. Right now I struggle with worrying about the future that hasn’t happened yet and my children and grandchildren. So much so that I forget that God is bigger than all that and we are in His care.

  3. homefire says:

    @stampingranny – ain’t it the truth?  So easy to forget that He already has it ALL under control.  @quilt_cats – Thanks for your input and I’m glad you like the music! 

  4. the_grat says:

    ronda.  i Really appreciated this.  love you !

  5. homefire says:

    @the_grat – I love you, too, Grace!  And it is SO good to hear from you even if it is only seven words.   

Leave a Reply

