Salmagundi

 

He that uses many words for explaining any subject, doth, like the cuttlefish, hide himself for the most part in his own ink. -John Ray, naturalist (1627-1705)

 

That quote struck me because I tend to overdo.  When I speak, I thrash the subject to death.  When I write, I always have to edit heavily.  Though I guess I haven’t had that problem much lately…haven’t posted here, anyway.  For some reason, I’ve been empty of things to write.

We just came through an inspiring weekend of Bible study and fellowship, but it was also exhausting.  I spent most of yesterday zombified in my recliner.  When you can take a six-hour nap and still an eight-hour night, you know you were tired!  I’m thankful for a wonderful, heartwarming weekend, but I need to sanp back to real life now.  Today there is no food prepared, a kitchen piled full of dirty dishes, piles of laundry, and my energy level is still fairly low. Must get moving.

A rambling of mine that I happened onto a few minutes ago:

Asking for prayer vs. Listening to God

I get quite a lot of prayer requests, and I occasionally ask for prayer myself.  I recently realized that asking for prayer requires commitment.  If I am praying for guidance, for instance, do I truly commit myself to doing whatever God reveals?  Or am I simply hoping to find some sort of confirmation for what I want to do?  Will I be open to the leading I receive if it’s not what I was hoping to hear?

Another thought…have I been in the Word of God on a daily basis?  If so, am I taking the time to listen to what He reveals to me there?  If I have been immersing myself in scripture, I will be hearing from God on a daily basis.  It’s not only a good habit, but it gives me a constant stream of input from my Lord.  If I put off devotional time until I am feeling oppressed or confused, then I am expecting “God on Tap,” ready to dispense whatever I need on command.  On the other hand, if I am in regular communion with God each day, I’m less likely to find myself in a panic and asking for prayer. 

The Word of God, the Bread of Heaven, is our manna.  If we gather it every day, we will not lack for sustenance.

Not sure why that popped up this morning, because the truth is that I actually want to ask for prayer.  I have some challenging things happening right now, and yeah, it would be great if people would pray for me.  And yes, I have been in the Word.  So I guess that shows that what I wrote above certainly doesn’t cover everything, does it?    Thank God for people who surround us and lift us up in prayer!

Have a beautiful day in the LORD~


 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salmagundi

  1. BooksForMe says:

    I love that quote.  Love what you shared.  I will be praying for you and all that concerns you.

  2. Hutch5 says:

    I’m one of those who usually trashes the subject to death too.. my husband teases me about taking twice as long as the “normal” person to express myself! 🙂 Such good thoughts on listening to God~ another thing I need to work on. And I’m going to stop and pray for you right now, friend.. for whatever it is your facing for there to be peace and rest and grace surrounding it all.{{hugs}}

  3. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    I’m glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

