When I Don’t Feel Grateful

 

A couple of weeks ago I didn’t post a gratitude journal.  I was all set to do the same today.  After all, the little notebook where I write down my “gifts” had only a couple notes–I might as well skip it. 

Now I know in my heart that there should be multitudes of gratitudes in every day, but to be truthful I haven’t been seeing them………….feeling them…………………..living them.  No, I haven’t.

Then I read Ann’s_entry  for this morning, and as usual, she shamed er, inspired me.  Though there are always setbacks, disappointments, and just plain lassitude, it is still good to write whatever few things I have gathered. 

Gratitude is like a muscle, which will atrophy with disuse or grow strong and supple when used properly.  I am setting a goal this morning to find a multitude of gratitudes in this day. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for,
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sunlight slanting through the trees leaving stripey steel-blue shadows across the snow
seeing others enjoy my creation and receiving an unexpected gift
nachos and homemade blizzards shared with all the friends who wander in
during the course of a Sunday evening
watching the Alzheimer patients’ eyes sparkle when they see that we’ve brought babies this time
snow gently falling outside my window, softening all the sharp edges of the world
my teenaged children all tumbled together in a loveseat like a litter of puppies
laughing and being silly
a long talk with my mom on her birthday
learning a new song about never standing alone
clothes drying on a wooden rack, humidifying the house
and saving on electricity bills
exercise that unkinks muscles and relieves pain

One other gift that I won’t receive until tomorrow, but I’m rather looking forward to is having the house to myself.  My kids are going skiing, and will be gone from early morning until late night.  I hardly know what to do with myself!  I’ve been trying to remember if I’ve ever had this much time at home alone before, and I’m not sure I have.  It’s the sort of thing I used to dream about when the children were little, but of course it never happened then.  What in the world do I do with a day in the house alone???

It will certainly be odd, but I’m hoping to enjoy it…
and not think about the fact that it may not be too many years before it’s this way all the time…

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When I Don’t Feel Grateful

  1. BooksForMe says:

    Enjoy your day alone.  I love the way you describe your teens. 

  2. mcbery says:

    It sounds kind of wonderful to have the house to yourself for a day. I should try that some time.I wouldn’t like it all the time but once would be nice. Have a great day!

  3. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    I adore this post!!  So honest and refreshing!

  4. mamaglop says:

    Yes, I hear you.   Earlier in my homeschooling, I sometimes watched the mothers who put their children on the bus and went back to hours of time at home to think their own thoughts…and I wondered what that would be like.  Now I miss the houseful I used to have and am so glad for the ones remaining, but an occasional few hours at home alone can be really delightful.

  5. Isn’t it funny how what usually is so very easy for us becomes so difficult when Satan attacks? Keep up the fight, good and faithful soldier!

  6. fwren says:

    Love your list.  And yeah ~ that quiet in a few years is hard to get used to ~ but getting used to it does happen.  Then the chaos, when it comes home, is what takes some adjusting to!    Fun, fun, fun!

Leave a Reply

