The Plans He Has For Me

 

Once years ago, at a time when there had been a big and rather unsettling change in my life, a friend sent me a frig magnet that said,

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”    ~Jer 29:11 niv

I loved it.  I thought, “Wow, what a beautiful promise!  I never knew that verse was in the Bible.”  I looked it up, and then I realized why I hadn’t recognized it.  In the King James Version, it’s put this way:

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.     ~Jer 29:11 kjv

I had never zeroed in on that verse as a great promise because an “expected end” doesn’t exactly present the same word picture as “a hope and a future.”  In fact, if it hadn’t just said peace and not evil, the term “expected end” would definitely tend to bring up some rather sinister overtones in my mind!

It was the first time I realized how much difference could be made by the tone and word choice of a translation.  In the days after, I read that magnet every day and quickly memorized it.  It’s been a verse that has popped into my mind countless times since, and I still love it.

Last week I was listening to Kay_Arthur  and she quoted these verses.

For thus says the LORD, ‘When seventy years have been completed for Babylon, I will visit you and fulfill My good word to you, to bring you back to this place.  For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.  You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.’    ~Jer 29:10-13  nasb

It’s amazing that in all the times I had said that verse to myself, I really had never thought about the context.  God was promising that yes, there was a good ending in store, BUT…  after seventy years of exile in Babylon! 

It’s such a good reminder that we need to look at life from God’s perspective.  To us, seventy years is a lifetime–it’s huge.  To God, seventy years is just a blip on the screen, a short interval after which he has other plans. 

Yes, I still think I can claim that promise, that he is planning a hopeful future for me, but I need to remember that God doesn’t look at things in my time frame, but through his own wide-angle lens that knows no time limitations.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Plans He Has For Me

  1. Neeka1 says:

    Absolutely.  Thanks for sharing!

  2. How do you listen to Kay Arthur? I would love to get some of her teaching videos.

  3. homefire says:

    @stampingranny – If you click on her name in my post, it’s a link to a site that has a Kay Arthur lesson every day. 

Leave a Reply

