I Remember Wednesday

 

When I was about five years old, my gums started hurting.  When I mentioned it to my mother, she told me that it was probably my “six-year molars” coming through.  Well, that made sense–babies cried when they were teething, so naturally I would be sore.  I was rather proud of my big new Permanent Teeth and quit complaining. 

Then the day came when I mentioned something about a friend getting her “Six-year Joneses.”  My family all looked at me like I had sprouted antennae, and I could see that they needed their memories jogged.  “You know…like my six-year molars.”

They all cracked up, and I stood there clueless.  You see, our last name was Mohler, so I had naturally assumed that those big teeth were simply called by the family name.  I’d never seen it written down, so how was I to know?.

Well, hey…it DID make sense. 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Remember Wednesday

  1. quilt_cats says:

    That was funny.  Always funny when I think of the way kids phrase things differently- cute.

  2. ElizabethDNB says:

    awww!  Thanks for the smile!  I bet your family re-told that one a lot!

  3. fwren says:

    That’s a good one ~ LOL!

  4. walkintrust says:

    I still remember telling my family that Arlene was getting her six-year-Kobles!!

  5. P_Obrien says:

     This made me smile. Thanks.

  6. TNLNSL_PRN says:

    Hahaha!!  Very cute!!

  7. bafocus_2 says:

    Haven’t been here much lately……..however this is priceless! Gods Blessings on your family!!

  8. homefire says:

    @walkintrust – Aha!  So I wasn’t the only one???  That is SO good to know! 

  9. BooksForMe says:

    That made me smile! 

  10. mamaglop says:

    That is cute!  I hope you are printing these off for your kids to see later, in case something should happen to xanga.

  11. homefire says:

    @mamaglop – Thanks for the reminder! 

Leave a Reply

