Gratitude Monday

 

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for,
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a turkey prancing through the snow
a blue and pink cotton candy sunrise
chocolate covered coffee beans
frost-shrouded bushes glinting in the sunlight
a warm fire to snuggle beside
a fascinating book
an incredible array of chips and dip
fresh pineapple
ice skaters swooping and gliding around the ice
or lurching and stumbling across the ice
or circling ve-ery slowly and cautiously at first but gradually relaxing, like me
legs that work just the way they’re supposed to
a Zamboni, wiping out all the false starts and skidmarks, leaving a smooth new beginning
a God who continually does the same, over and over
in my life

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yep.  Ice skating was very scary at first, but my wonderful husband held my hand during the first circuit, and I gradually gained confidence.  And we remembered how much we loved it.  The whole family can’t wait to go back.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We recently read aloud A Heart Strangely Warmed, a short biography of John Wesley, and there were a couple of quotes I liked.  Once Wesley was asked, “But where will all this lead?”  

His response was, ” I am not concerned about what may be a hundred years hence.  He who governed the world before I was born will take care of it likewise when I am dead.  My part is to improve the present moment.” 

The other quote is from his mother, Susannah:  “You must not pass through the world like straw upon a river.”  One of the children asked what in the world that meant, and as I was trying to explain, my oldest son interjected, “Don’t go through the river like a boat–go through rock like a chisel.” 

I thought, yeah…that’s good.  Leave your mark. 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gratitude Monday

  1. fwren says:

    LOVED this post, dear friend.  I would have so enjoyed watching the turkey prance; I’m so thankful you enjoyed and survived the ice skating ~ and I really liked your analogy with the Zamboni ~

  2. love that…go through life like a chisel through rock. very insightful!

  3. mcbery says:

    Being a chisel gives me a headache! Lol! Good post. I read some stories about John Wesley’s parents. Very interesting. If I remember right they didn’t speak to each other for months one time because of a disagreement they had about politics. Sounds funny but when you’re a chisel you don’t give up. I’m sorry but that just strikes me funny this morning. Must be the snow all around on the ground.

  4. ElizabethDNB says:

    Loe your gratitude posts!  Always helps my perpective.  I once did a study with soem girls friends on Mrs. Wesley.  Awesome woman!

Leave a Reply

