Saturday Musings

 

So tomorrow afternoon, we are invited to go ice skating.  I’m trying to decide whether or not to skate.  I used to love to skate, but I confess that it has definitely lost some of its appeal over the past few years.  As my husband said, the last time I went ice skating, it cost us over $12,000 (and many months of rehab) to repair a broken kneecap.  On the other hand, why should one awkward fall keep me from doing this?  I don’t want to be a shrinking violet the rest of my life.  (Those of you who know me personally…quit snickering.)  I will probably skate, though I doubt I will be able to do so as fearlessly as I once did.  Yeah, you can pray for me…that might be a good idea.   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DID YOU KNOW that on Super Bowl Sunday, Americans consume more food than on any other day of the year except Thanksgiving?

I heard that on the radio yesterday, so surely it’s true, right? 

So enjoy Pig-Out Sunday everyone!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“…Where your attention goes, energy flows. So the next time you’re facing a mountain… focus on the next foothold and soon enough you’ll find yourself over the top…” 

                                          ~A quote I loved, lifted from Resolved@Worship 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is a T-shirt in my sidebar ad that makes me laugh every time I see it.  It says:

I am disappointment in you’re grammar.

Cracks me up.

Dd told me today that there is a Facebook flare that says, “If we had a dime for every misspelled “your” on Facebook, we wouldn’t need a stimulus package.”  Makes me almost want to get a Facebook account so that I can have that. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just love Andrée Seu.  She writes the things I wish I were clever enough to come up with. 

This_article is an example.  How many, many times I have had numerous thoughts spiraling through my head, only to suddenly discover that they conflict with each other!  She says it so well.

Another one I like is this_one where she validates my dislike of small talk. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And just for kicks, a shot of Amy working out.

IMG_0516

She’s one tough little chick! 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Musings

  1. mamaglop says:

    Are you living close enough to your grandchild to see her everyday?  Lucky you!  She is adorable.  We have a picture of our 1 year old “playing video games” between Dad and  Dad’s longhaired computer geek friend. 

  2. homefire says:

    @mamaglop – They live fairly close–a great blessing.  We usually see her at least once a week, sometimes twice.

  3. BooksForMe says:

    Amy really is a cutie pie.  What a face!  And, as she gets older she is looking more like her grandmother.  Pretty fascinating.  Your daughter must look like you.I like Andree Seu, too.  Haven’t read her in a long time, though.  Thanks for the links.I’ll send you Flair, if get a Facebook.  I think you might have a season of being overwhelmed at FB, but you’d get over it.  You’d hide stuff and make it work for you.  Or, maybe not.  I was logged onto my Mother’s FB last night and saw all my recent posts and was shamed.  Too much FB this week.  Aren’t you tempted to delete people who never post?  I am, but then one will reappear and I feel obliged to spare to them all.  I’ve added a lot of subs lately.  Re-added others.  However, I am reading fewer than ever.  I used to be I had to read everyone.  Love that quote.  In fact, I think I’ll go post it on my FB status…P.S. At least at Thanksgiving people are eating a lot of veggies and healthy turkey.  Super Bowl Sunday seems to be all about junk food—lots of processed, fatty junk food!  Ack!

  4. homefire says:

    Awww, that’s exciting–no one has ever said she looked like me before!  Probably because she definitely has her daddy’s big eyes and long curly eyelashes, which you can’t really see in that picture.  Have to admit–I’m tempted by Scrabble… 

Leave a Reply

