Gratitude Monday

 

 

Gifts that make my life worth living,
gifts that make my moments holy.
Not gifts that I wish for,
but gifts that I have received.
Gifts that bring me back
into Joy and Gratitude.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a fresh covering of snow to hide the ugly gray and brown of exposed earth
a day out alone exploring local libraries
ice fishing shacks dotting the lakes
a cottage called Halcyon
a shelf of show extending two feet past the roof edge
a read-aloud called The Juvie Three that everyone loves
the floor of my son’s bedroom, carpeted with jigsaw puzzles
reading O. Henry’s short stories
a precariously leaning barn
caramel popcorn shared with friends
watching my kids play Crazy Uno, and laughing at the colorful insults it inspires–
nerdmeister, twinkleberry, dweebowitz, and my personal favorite:  dinklefwitzonian–
seeing Amy test her new words
and stand on her own two feet
discovering a new game, Mad Dash, that is fast and very fun

homemade cinnamon scented soap
a sermon that reminded me of my desperate need for a Savior
hearing an Alzheimer’s patient singing, off-key and out of time, but still beautiful to God’s ears
my 18 year old son dramatically reading a love sonnet to his siblings
and their, um, inimitable responses

Here is the sonnet.

To Celia
by Ben Jonson

DRINK to me only with thine eyes,  
  And I will pledge with mine;  
Or leave a kiss but in the cup  
  And I’ll not look for wine.  
The thirst that from the soul doth rise      
  Doth ask a drink divine;  
But might I of Jove’s nectar sup,  
  I would not change for thine.  
 
I sent thee late a rosy wreath,  
  Not so much honouring thee   
As giving it a hope that there  
  It could not wither’d be;  
But thou thereon didst only breathe,  
  And sent’st it back to me;  
Since when it grows, and smells, I swear,   
  Not of itself but thee!

 

Perhaps you can imagine the eye-rolling, heart-clutching response this inspired in my 13 and 14 year-olds. 

What has been a special little gift to YOU this week?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gratitude Monday

  1. fwren says:

    just some downtime ~ not so much rush ~ more time with Him ~

  2. mcbery says:

    A gift for me this week, a nap! First nap I’ve had in weeks, I think. (I’m not counting the times I fall asleep watching something. Lol!)

  3. cabinets hung in basement! 🙂

Leave a Reply

