Does Militia = Terrorists?

 

I’ve been reading this novel I borrowed from a friend today, and several times, it refers to an organized militia group as American terrorism.  Do you think that’s an accurate representation?  Just curious.

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does Militia = Terrorists?

  1. BooksForMe says:

    I don’t think so.  It disturbs me to think of them as the same.  I think of the militia as being defensive, terrorists offensive.  That’s a simple answer, but about as good as I can do at 11:30PM. LOL

  2. homefire says:

    @BooksForMe – It bothered me, too.  I realize that there are probably some so-called militia people who are wild-eyed revolutionaries for some cause or another, but I guess I’d like to think that some are simply set up as a precaution against government excess and generally peaceful.  After all, a militia is mentioned in quite a favorable context in the second amendment.  “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”  I like your answer–defensive vs. offensive.  That’s a nice way to sum it up.

  3. i agree with the defensive vs offensive analogy! i also believe books, tv shows, movies, and the msm are used to ‘condition’ our society, as well. i see it as another step to getting the public to accept the ‘disarming’ of our nation at some point. just as in any group, i’m sure there are militia members or groups that could be seen as terrorists…but i think that is the exception, not the rule. the militia members i have known are intelligent, reasonable and PATRIOTIC…maybe that’s the problem, patriotism. we don’t fit well with the ‘global community’ because we’re too independent…

  4. homefire says:

    @seekingJehova – good point!  Patriotism is not particularly popular today, is it?

Leave a Reply

