New Year – – New House

 

CONSTRUCTION COMPLETE !!

Here’s a front view

IMG_1207

and the side

IMG_1201

And one from the top just so you can see how crazy the rooflines were. 
The center is a just a flat roof, which should actually be bristling with AC units and vents, I suppose.  Mine looks pretty boring.

IMG_1214

It’s modeled after a Johnny Carino’s Italian Restaurant–anyone recognize it?

I was a little disappointed that I ran out of time and couldn’t add any landscaping, but tomorrow morning we load it up to head for family Christmas gathering in Ohio.

Have a blessed new year, everyone!

 

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New Year – – New House

  1. mcbery says:

    That’s beautiful! Hope you can haul it safely without calling in the repair crew. Happy New Year and safe travels.

  2. proudmom87 says:

    That is so neat! Happy New Year!

  3. quilt_cats says:

    Wow- that’s great work!  I love the lights inside it.  I’ve labored on some gingerbread houses before, and they are lots of work.  I always held my breath when we had to take one in the car- I think yours looks pretty sturdy though.  It’s not exactly gingerbread though, is it?  It really looks neat.  Hope you have a wonderful new year!

  4. SpazzyMommy says:

    Simply Awesome!!! 🙂

  5. homefire says:

    @quilt_cats – yep, it’s gingerbread.  You can’t really see any gingerbread anymore, though.  The stone exterior is made of thin slices of homemade caramels.

  6. fwren says:

    You outdid yourself this time, girlfriend!  Beautiful!

  7. mamaglop says:

    Very impressive, and lit, no less!  It looks good enough to eat.  Is it going to Ohio with you?

  8. medelamom says:

    wow that is amazing! we did some a couple years ago with graham crackers and a frosting recipe i got out of an old german cookbook. that stuff was seriously like cement! in my mind, my house looked as amazing as yours…in reality tho, not so much! how long have you been doing those? it looks like you’ve had lots of experience making them, or you are naturally talented!

  9. homefire says:

    @medelamom – I would guess that I’ve done 12 or so, but I’m really not sure.  I want to gather old pictures and make an album, but I haven’t been able to find pictures for all of the old ones before we had digital cameras.  What does this tell you about my photo organization? 

Leave a Reply

