Construction Update #2

 

My back hurts, my feet hurt, and I am feeling great!  Such a sense of accomplishment to have gotten so much done.  A bunch of the calendars are printed.  The last of the gifts are wrapped, not counting the one that didn’t arrive in time.    The food is mostly ready for fondue tomorrow evening, and the gingerbread house made a lot more progress today than it did yesterday.  Which I guess really isn’t saying much, because yesterday I put some things together, they fell down, so I put them together again and they fell down again, That time, a piece broke.    I realized I had messed up the icing recipe, so I worked on the icing a bit, and then it finally hung together.  But I ended up accomplishing very little by the end of the day.

Today it did go better.  The piece that broke turned out to be too short anyway, so I just added a chunk in the middle to make it fit.  It turned out there were several spots that needed some alterations–I need to fire that architect, I guess!  I managed to get most of the walls up, but not all of the roof is on yet.  I did make all the siding today, which was a rather long job.  Some tasty fringe benefits, though… 

                                                                   Design Phase One:  COMPLETE
                                                     Design Phase Two:  COMPLETE
Fabrication of Support Components and Roof Structures:  COMPLETE
                                                                  Site Prep:  COMPLETE
                                                                    Framing:  IN PROGRESS
                                                  Mechanical/Electrical:  COMPLETE
                                                            Roofing/Siding: 

I’m definitely still behind schedule, but oh, well.  You’ll have that sometimes.  My family has been most understanding.  My 18 yr old son fixed us lunch and cleaned up the kitchen so that I could keep on with my creative blitz.  And I guess we skipped supper, now that I think about it… 

I was going to upload a couple more pictures, but I’m getting a message that the service is unavailable ??   Weird.

So sorry…no pics.  Maybe tomorrow?

 

About dayuntoday

I'm a wonderer. I spend a lot of time mulling, pondering, and cogitating. This is just a place to park some of those thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Construction Update #2

  1. cerwindoris says:

    Christmas blessings to you and yours.

  2. the_grat says:

    merry christmas !   hope you have a GOOD day, and can enjoy it without too much work to distract or tire you… =)

  3. homefire says:

    @the_grat – Thanks!  It has been wonderful, really!  I hope you’re having a blessed Christmas, too.  I have thought of you numerous times over the past couple months, and keep wondering what’s going on in your life.  E-mail me–pretty please? 

Leave a Reply

